Engadin St. Moritz in 60 Hours

Thursday

7.00 pm - Arrive and immerse yourself

Proud patrician houses like Chesa Planta show off their Sgraffito designs, hidden alleyways, secretive nooks and crannies entice whimsical exploration in the living past: the village of Zuoz is known as one of the most beautiful in the whole Engadin, and this is not simply a façade, so to speak. Upon the village square children play, while the grown-ups enjoy a coffee at Hotel Klarer and perhaps even a Klarerli chocolate dessert from the in-house confectioner’s.

8.00 pm - Two true originals

This corner of the Engadin has a fair bit to offer in terms of culinary delights, as well. Daniel Bumann in La Punt’s Chesa Pirani scores two of Michelin stars. Anyone preferring something a bit more down-to-earth is bound to prefer the rustic variety in restaurant Dorta in Zuoz. Here, in the cosy ambience that only a converted archaic hay-loft can provide, one can sample a wonderful array of regional delicacies in what many agree is one of the most original locales in the whole valley.

Friday

9.30 am - In seventh heaven

In the footsteps of the famous painter, Giovanni Segantini, to one of the Engadin’s most beautiful viewpoints: the Segantini Hut. The ascent is steep, but the view is worth the effort. The hospitable host and hostess of the Segantini Hut will pamper you with a selection from their simple menu.

1.00 pm - Earthly pleasures, divine views

Such a spectacular view of the Engadin’s lakes is found nowhere else: in the restaurant of the romantic hotel Muottas Muragl, one is given first-row seats, while the regional and Mediterranean specialities combined with the alpine backdrop are sure to overwhelm you with delight. Notably, this is the first Plus-energy hotel in the Alps and generates, throughout the year, more energy than it consumes.

3.00 pm - A stroll through time

Graubünden’s oldest cable car conveys one in just a few minutes to the valley floor, with a connection by bus to St. Moritz. The history of this legendary place can be grasped in the course of this short tour. From the village centre, where the enchanting old structures are found, to Chesa Futura of the well-known British architect, Norman Foster with its façade of over 250,000 larch shingles, which rises from the rooftops. Via Maistra pulsates with village life, while above on the hill, the famous leaning tower of St. Moritz, erected in the 12th century, can be seen.

6.00 pm - A glass at the lake

Thanks to the steady Maloja wind, the St. Moritz Sailing Club, founded in 1941, was able to become firmly established in Europe, as the wind keeps the skiffs and catamarans scooting along at a good clip. Enjoying an aperitif in front of the Sailing Club restaurant, you can set your gaze out on the water and relax, watching the small waves rock the boats lazily to and fro.

7.30 pm - Dinner with local colour

The oldest house in St. Moritz is not only impressive because of its 350-year history, but also due to its inner beauty: Chesa Veglia is a small, rustic offshoot of the 5-star hotel, Badrutt’s Palace – and a proper oasis for aficionados. A more down-to-earth alternative is to be found in the Veltlinerkeller, which is also a favourite among locals and offers its attractions homemade Italian pasta.

10.00 pm - Wine and singing

Anyone on the lookout for a nightcap will find the best chance of getting a refined glass of cultivated wine at Pavarotti & Friends on the Plazza dal Mulin. The host of this cosy locale does bear a stark resemblance to the famous opera star, and is even known to belt out an aria of his own from time to time. Above all, however, he seems to have the rare ability to match the suitable wine to the taster, making the wine list almost superfluous.

Saturday

9.00 am - Mountain biking

All beginnings are easy: the first few meters of elevation gain up to Corviglia are not so hard – thanks, of course, to the gondola, which comfortably brings both bikers and bikes to a height of 2500 meters above sea-level. From up here, a fantastic network of trails leads through the alpine panorama. It is just the thing to get you in the flow – until your stomach starts to growl and you realize it is high time for an early lunch.

11.30 am - Arena for pleasure seekers

The Trutz Hut, the mountain restaurant of the renowned Suvretta House, is a promising locale. But it is not just the cuisine which is gratifying (from the heartily traditional, or sporty and light, to succulently sweet), but also the view that can be enjoyed from the expansive, platform-like sun terrace. Aficionados will also surely not be disappointed at Mathi’s Food Affairs on Corviglia or at El Paradiso. It will not be long before you are feeling antsy, however, and wanting to get back onto your bike and onto the Flow Trail.

12.30 pm - Go with the flow

The unique flow trails on Corviglia turn every mountain biker into wave rider. This is not a typical downhill biking course meant for pros, but rather a softly undulating and flowing trail which the whole family can enjoy. Through hill and dale, wood and meadow, ride the flowing ribbon of trail through this delightful mountain panorama to St. Moritz on either the Corviglia or WM Flow Trails, or even to St. Moritz-Champfèr on Foppettas Flow Trail.

4.00 pm - Pure relaxation

After a long day on the bike, it is time to kick back and relax – you’ve earned it! Take, for example, the Ovaverva bathing facility in St. Moritz with its sauna area and exterior heated pool with a view to Piz Julier and Piz Albana. Alternately, you could simply lounge cosily on the sun terrace with a nice tea. There is also the mineral bath and spa in Samedan which leads you on a relaxing journey through three storeys of stylishly designed spaces with a variety of sensual baths and steam rooms, ending at length on the roof under the Engadin’s star-studded sky.

7.00 pm - The finest meat in Graubünden

Such a variety of tastes, yet all seem to agree: in Bellavista in Surlej, not only is the food sensational, but it also has an atmosphere to match. In five separate dining parlours, you will find a celebration of the senses and comfort taking place as you sample both an array of regional specialities as well as excellent dishes of locally hunted game.

10.30 pm - Welcome to the clubs

Anyone not yet ready to call it a night will be pleased: St. Mortiz’s clubs provide all the makings for perfect nightcap. For example, in Vivai in Hotel Steffani, where «tout St. Moritz» meets.

Sunday

10.00 am - Hot chocolate à la Graubünden

In the local cafés and confectioneries, Hauser and Hanselmann, the best hot chocolate in the valley is served, which promises an especially sweet start to the day. Be sure not to miss the opportunity to succumb to additional temptation while you are at it; the Engadin nut cakes of these two confectioners are of unrivalled scrumptiousness.

11.00 am - High alpine cruise

For more than 100 years, at exactly 1800 meters above sea-level, there has been a scheduled boat service underway upon the Lake of Sils, making the crossing from Sils Maria to Maloja in forty minutes. It is recommended to debark in Plaun da Lej, as here there is another siren on the shore, calling seafarers into temptation.

1.00 pm - High-noon at the lakeside

Restaurant Murtaröl in Plaun da Lej, with its wind-sheltered terrace, is the Engadin’s premier fish restaurant. The proprietors, Aris Plaun da Lej, as both the heart and soul – as well as the treasurers - of this company, pride themselves on having the greatest selection of fresh and live fish, crustaceans, mussels, oysters and molluscs in the Alps.

2.00 pm - In Nietzsche’s footsteps

Next stop: Chasté. It is best to prematurely end the return trip by ship by debarking at this wonderful peninsula. Here, in the shade of the larch trees, stands the same bench that renowned philosopher Friedrich Nietzsche once sat upon while receiving inspiration for his work. Feeling closely kindred to the Engadin, he spent several summers in Sils Maria, leaving his traces – especially prevalent in the Nietzsche House, which now serves as museum and research institute.

3.00 pm - Gone with the wind

Shortly after noon in the Engadin, the Maloja wind comes up and the kites begin to dance upon the Lake of Silvaplana. This is a good reason to take a break and watch the colourful motions of the kitesurfers before heading home over the Julier Pass.



eConciergePlan and book your vacation

Compile and book your own customised vacation using the eConcierge.

 
Follow:
Facebook Twitter YouTube Engadin St. Moritz Instagram

eConcierge

Do you have any questions?
We would be pleased to be of assistance.

T +41 81 830 00 01
Engadin.StMoritz

Discover all the inspiring things that the Engadin St. Moritz destination has to offer from the comfort of your own home. With eConcierge, you can compile and book your own, tailor-made holiday arrangement with just a click of the mouse.


Open additional search options

Additional search options


Currently, holiday apartments and additional offers cannot be reserved through eConcierge in a single booking. Please book the required offers separately.


Open additional search options

Additional search options

  1. Bitte wählen Sie eine Aktivität

Please select a package

Loading

Engadin St. Moritz in 60 Stunden

Donnerstag

19.00 Uhr - Ankommen und eintauchen

Stolze Patrizierhäuser wie die Chesa Planta präsentieren selbstbewusst ihre Sgraffito-Verzierungen, geheimnisvolle Gässchen verführen zu Entdeckungstouren in die bewegte Vergangenheit: Das Dorfbild von Zuoz gilt als das schönste im ganzen Oberengadin. Und ist nicht bloss Kulisse: Auf dem Dorfplatz spielen die Kinder, während sich die Erwachsenen im Hotel Klarer einen Kaffee und einen schokoladenen Dessert «Klarerli» von der Konditorei gönnen.

20.00 Uhr - Zwei wahre Originale

Auch kulinarisch hat diese Ecke einiges zu bieten: Gleich mit zwei Sternen punktet Daniel Bumann im «Chesa Pirani» in La Punt. Wer eher das Bodenständige mag, wählt die rustikalere Variante und bleibt in Zuoz: Das «Dorta» bietet neben Heugaden-Ambiente eine schöne Auswahl an Bündner Köstlichkeiten und gilt als eines der originellsten Lokale im ganzen Tal.

Freitag

9.30 Uhr - Im siebten Himmel

Auf den Spuren des berühmten Malers Giovanni Segantini zu einem der schönsten Aussichtspunkte des Oberengadins: die Segantinihütte. Der Aufstieg ist steil, aber die Aussicht lohnt sich und die herzlichen Gastgeber der Segantinihütte verwöhnen die Wanderer mit einer einfachen Menü-Karte.

13.00 Uhr - Tafelfreuden mit Weitsicht

Einen spektakuläreren Blick auf die Oberengadiner Seenplatte gibt es nirgends: Im Restaurant des Romantik Hotels Muottas Muragl sitzt man in der ersten Reihe, während regionale und mediterrane Spezialitäten mit der Alpenkulisse zum Hochgenuss verschmelzen. Übrigens: Der Betrieb ist das erste Plusenergie-Hotel der Alpen und generiert, übers Jahr gesehen, mehr Energie, als er verbraucht.

15.00 Uhr - Streifzug durch die Geschichte

Die zweitälteste Standseilbahn Graubündens führt in wenigen Minuten ins Tal, wo es mit dem Bus weiter geht nach St. Moritz. Der Geschichte des legendären Ortes kommt man auf einem kleinen Rundgang auf die Spur: Im Dorfkern verzaubern typische Engadiner Bauten, während die Chesa Futura des britischen Architekten Norman Foster mit seiner Fassade aus 250'000 Lärchenschindeln aus dem Dächermeer ragt. An der Via Maistra pulsiert das Dorfleben. Und oben, auf dem Hügel, setzt sich das Wahrzeichen in Szene: der schiefe Turm aus dem 12. Jahrhundert.

18.00 Uhr - Ein Glas am See

Der Malojawind macht‘s möglich: Dank ihm entwickelte sich der 1941 gegründete Segel-Club St. Moritz rasch zu einer festen Grösse in Europa, denn die Jollen und Katamarane kommen hier ganz schön in Fahrt. Beim Apéro vor dem Restaurant Segelclub blickt man entspannt übers Wasser, auf dem kleine Wellen tanzen und die letzten Boote sanft hin und her schaukeln.

19.30 Uhr - Dinner mit Lokalkolorit

Das älteste Haus in St. Moritz beeindruckt nicht nur mit seiner 350-jährigen Geschichte, sondern auch mit «inneren Werten»: Die «Chesa Veglia» ist ein kleiner, rustikaler Ableger des 5-Sterne-Hotels «Badrutt’s Palace» – und eine wahre Feinschmecker-Oase. Eine bodenständige Alternative bietet sich mit dem «Veltlinerkeller» an, der auch bei Einheimischen beliebt ist und unter anderem mit hausgemachten italienischen Teigwaren verwöhnt.

22.00 Uhr - Wein und Gesang

Wem nach einem Schlummertrunk ist, hat im «Pavarotti & Friends» an der Plazza dal Mulin beste Aussichten auf ein gepflegtes Glas Wein. Der Wirt des gemütlichen Lokals sieht tatsächlich ein wenig aus wie der berühmte Opernstar – und schmettert auch mal eine Arie in die Runde. Vor allem aber scheint er seinen Gästen anzusehen, welcher Tropfen zu welchem Typ passt. Die Weinkarte erübrigt sich.

Samstag

9.00 Uhr - Biken am Berg

Aller Anfang ist leicht: Die ersten Höhenmeter bis auf Corviglia überwindet man locker – dank der Gondelbahn, die Biker und Bikes auf den Berg transportiert. Oben, auf 2500 Metern, führen traumhafte Trails durchs Hochgebirgspanorama. Perfekt, um so richtig auf Touren zu kommen – bis der Magen knurrt und nach einem frühen Lunch verlangt.

11.30 Uhr - Arena für Geniesser

Als Bergrestaurant des berühmten 5-Stern-Hotels Suvretta House ist die Trutz-Hütte ein Versprechen. Hier überzeugt allerdings nicht nur das Essen (von deftig traditionell über sportlich leicht bis verführerisch süss), sondern auch die Aussicht auf der tribünenartigen Sonnenterrasse. Gourmets sind übrigens auch bei «Mathi‘s Food Affairs» auf Corviglia und im «El Paradiso» genau an der richtigen Adresse. Doch bald schon wird man wieder kribbelig und will aufs Bike: Denn was jetzt folgt, ist der «Flow Trail».

12.30 Uhr - Alles im Fluss

Die einzigartigen Flow Trails auf der Corviglia machen jeden Mountainbiker zum Wellenreiter. Dabei handelt es sich nicht etwa um Downhillstrecken für Profis, sondern um einen sanft «fliessenden» Mountainbike-Trail für die ganze Familie. Über Feld, Wald und Wiesen geht’s im prächtigen Bergpanorama entspannt nach St. Moritz via Corviglia Flowtrail und WM Flow Trail oder nach St. Moritz-Champfèr via Foppettas Flow Trail.

16.00 Uhr - Entspannung pur

Nach einem Tag auf dem Bike hat man sich etwas Entspannung redlich verdient. Zum Beispiel im neuen Ovaverva in St. Moritz im Saunabereich, im Aussenpool mit Aussicht auf den Piz Julier und Piz Albana oder einfach gemütlich auf der Sonnenterrasse bei einem feinen Tee. Oder das Mineralbad & Spa Samedan: Es gilt als das erste «vertikale» Mineralbad der Schweiz. Über drei Stockwerke durchwandert der Gast in stimmungsvoller Architektur ein Labyrinth aus sinnlichen Bade- und Dampfräumen. Und landet am Ende unter dem Engadiner Sternenhimmel.

19.00 Uhr - Bestes Bündner Fleisch

So verschieden die Geschmäcker sind, so sehr sind sie sich einig: Im «Bellavista» in Surlej ist nicht nur das Essen ein Ereignis, sondern auch die Atmosphäre. In fünf Stuben werden gleichzeitig Genuss und Gemütlichkeit zelebriert und neben regionalen Spezialitäten hervorragende Wildgerichte aus eigener Jagd serviert.

24.00 Uhr - Welcome to the Clubs

Wer sich noch nicht nach Ruhe sehnt, darf sich freuen: St. Moritz bietet in seinen Clubs den perfekten Rahmen für einen Schlummertrunk. Zum Beispiel im «Vivai» im Hotel Steffani, wo sich «tout St. Moritz» trifft.

Sonntag

10.00 Uhr - Hot Chocolate auf Bündnerisch

In den Cafés der Konditoreien Hauser und Hanselmann wird die beste heisse Schokolade des Tals serviert, was einen besonders süssen Einstieg in den Tag garantiert. Es empfiehlt sich auch unbedingt, einer weiteren Versuchung zu erliegen: Die Bündner Nusstorten der beiden Zuckerbäcker gelten als unübertroffen.

11.00 Uhr - Hochalpine Kreuzfahrt

Auf exakt 1800 Metern über Meer überquert seit über hundert Jahren ein Kursschiff den Silsersee. In vierzig Minuten fährt es von Sils Maria nach Maloja. Es empfiehlt sich, in Plaun da Lej von Bord zu gehen, denn hier wartet die nächste Versuchung.

13.00 Uhr - Mittag am Meer

Das «Murtaröl» in Plaun da Lej mit seiner windgeschützten Terrasse gilt als das Fischrestaurant des Engadins. Die Aris Plaun da Lej besitzt die grösste Auswahl von frischen und lebenden Fischen, Krustentieren, Muscheln, Austern und Weichtieren der Alpen. Die Aris Plaun da Lej ist der Tresor und zugleich die Seele des Betriebs.

14.00 Uhr - Auf Nietzsches Spuren

Nächster Halt: Chasté. Die Rückfahrt mit dem Schiff bricht man am besten frühzeitig ab und steigt bei dieser wunderbaren Halbinsel aus. Unter Lärchen steht hier jene Bank, auf der Friedrich Nietzsche einst Inspiration für seine Werke fand. Mehrere Sommer verbrachte er in Sils Maria, weil er sich dem Oberengadin «blutsverwandt» fühlte. Dabei hinterliess er Spuren – besonders spannende im Nietzsche Haus, das heute als Museum und Forschungsstätte dient.

15.00 Uhr - Vom Winde verweht

Kurz nach dem Mittag setzt im Oberengadin der Malojawind ein und lässt die Kite-Drachen auf dem Silvaplanersee tanzen. Ein guter Grund, am Silvaplanersee eine kleine Pause einzuschalten und dem bunten Treiben der Kitesurfer zusehen, bevor es über den Julierpass nach Hause geht.



eConciergeFERIEN PLANEN / BUCHEN

Mit dem eConcierge massgeschneiderte Ferien gestalten und buchen.

 
Besuchen:
Facebook Twitter YouTube Engadin St. Moritz Instagram

eConcierge

Haben Sie Fragen?
Gerne helfen wir Ihnen weiter

T +41 81 830 00 01
Engadin.StMoritz

Entdecken Sie das inspirierende Angebot der Destination Engadin St. Moritz schon von zu Hause aus. Mit dem eConcierge können Sie Ihre massgeschneiderten Ferien per Mausklick gestalten und direkt buchen.


Detailsuche öffnen

Detailsuche


Ferienwohnungen können derzeit noch nicht in einer gemeinsamen Buchung mit anderen Angeboten über den eConcierge reserviert werden. Bitte buchen Sie Ihre gewünschten Zusatzleistungen separat.


Orts- und Detailsuche öffnen

Detailsuche

  1. Bitte wählen Sie eine Aktivität

Bitte wählen Sie eine Pauschale aus

Loading