Engadin St. Moritz in 8 Days

Saturday: Arrive and lift off

6.00 pm - Stand above it all…

…and marvel: the Engadin lounges in the bedazzling summer sunshine. The four lakes sparkle like a string of diamonds in the crystal clear brilliance of the light, while the majestic mountain chains rise from the high-alpine plateau. There is no better view of the Engadin than the one to be found from Muottas Muragl – the ideal place for a proper holiday kick-off celebration!

7.00 pm - Enchanting box seats

A sunset dinner on Muottas Muragl is a romantic spectacle. Sitting in the front row, simply watching the wonders of nature as presented in the ever-changing light, sampling regional delicacies, and marvelling perhaps a little at this unique operation, which, as the first Plus-energy hotel in the Alps, produces more electricity than it consumes.

9.00 pm - Blue hour

The last blue hues of the day seep into the night sky from behind the mountain range, an enchanting moment one would like to preserve forever, but it must suffice to simply hold on a moment longer, protracting it on a short stroll up to the outlook. Then, it is back to the valley floor in the historical cable car, and back to your home for now. Tomorrow, another day awaits.

Sunday: Lounging at the lake

10.00 am - Scintillating St. Moritz

The Alp’s legendary destination seems to doze still, and yet, the morning sun playfully throws shadows on the façades. This is the ideal moment to take a stroll and dip into the history of St. Moritz. In the village centre where the enchanting old structures like Chesa Veglia (a farmhouse erected in 1658) are found, while Chesa Futura of the well-known British architect, Norman Foster, with its façade of over 250,000 larch shingles, rises from the rooftops, and above on the hill, the famous leaning tower of St. Moritz, erected in the 12th century, can be seen.

11.00 am - On the exclusive tour

Opposite the leaning tower is the legendary Kulm Hotel, the first luxury hotel in the Alps, opened by Johannes Badrutt in 1856. Especially for non-guests, having a look into one of the five-star hotels is worthwhile, as each has a character of its very own: Kulm Hotel is discretely elegant, the Suvretta House distinctly British, Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains, both poised yet leisurely, and Badrutt’s Palace, which is thoroughly epicurean. Finally, there is the dominant Via Serlas: the world’s biggest outdoor luxury shopping mall leads from the village centre to the train station and includes the most famous designer labels.

12.00 pm - Where it all began

Just over 150 years ago, winter tourism was invented in St. Moritz, but the history of this renowned destination goes much further back than that – 3000 years ago, to be exact, when the healing waters of the Mauritius Spring were drawn, and half the known world made pilgrimages to the alpine village to drink this iron-rich elixir. In the Heilbad St. Moritz in the village of St. Moritz Bad, the legendary water still flows from a fountain which is open to all, while the original vessel can be viewed and admired in Hotel Kempinski.

12.30 pm - Dinner is served

Colourful, bright and trendy: Giardino Mountain hotel in Champfèr is one of eight 5-star hotels in the Engadin. In its restaurants, both guests and non-guests are treated with delicacies and Mediterranean fish specialities. It is such a cosy setting that it practically takes a concerted effort to leave one’s place on the idyllic, sun-spoilt terrace.

2.00 pm - Dancing kites

Every day, just after noon, the Maloja wind enters the scene, and there is no more holding back for the kitesurfers. By the dozens, they let their kites soar into the air and pull them across the Lake of Silvaplana. Daring jumps, rapid races – watching from the shore is a true spectacle.

2.30 pm - Idyllic bathing spots

A lovely walking path leads along the Lake of Champfèr and through the larch forest towards the former Olympic ski jump – and suddenly, a petit, wonderfully picturesque lake emerges, situated in a protected nook of the wood, with a small sand beach on its northern shore. Lej Marsch – along with Lej da Staz – are the Engadin’s most preferred bathing lakes.

5.00 pm - Chilling und grilling

Relax, you’re on holiday. Take a tip from the locals: you can turn the picnic from your backpack into a veritable feast. Take a dip at intervals in the cool lake water, and otherwise lie on your back, soaking up sun and see if you can catch a glimpse of a single cloud in the sky.

7.00 pm - The golden age

On a relaxing stroll through the summer aromas in the forest back to the Lake of St. Moritz, the scenery looks as if it has been dipped in gold. And that is just how you feel, walking on sunshine, weightless and completely in the now.

Monday: Wild wonderland

9.00 am - Picnic in paradise

From its gates in Zernez, the 172 square-kilometre Swiss National Park, the only of its kind, spreads out before you. The spectacular nature conservation area is home to countless rare species of the Alps, who enjoy free range in an unspoilt and wild mountain habitat. Incredible hiking trails lead visitors through this pristine mountain landscape – with enchanting picnic spots along the trail’s edge. It is well-advised to fortify yourself with some local delicacies before leaving Zernez, like one of Hatecke’s renowned dried beef sausages from his delicatessen and butchers in the centre of town.

9.30 am - Upon the bird’s back

Since May 2008, the National Park experience has begun directly in Zernez, in the new visitor’s centre. Three excellent short films show the National Park from a surprising perspective before one embarks on their own journey of discovery – explanations are given through a manually controllable audio device. Additionally, there are a lot of hands-on displays, which reflect the park’s goal to playfully spark the interest of visitors; to touch rather than teach. In this you can fly on the back of one of the massive bearded vultures over the Emotional Park, and marvel at all you see.

11.30 am - Fun along the way with GPS

Directly in front of the visitor centre is where the Swiss bus coach waits. In the National Park, from Parkplatz 1 a path for kids named Champlönch leads the way to Hotel Il Fuorn in roughly two to three enjoyable hours. Anyone who rents a GPS set, will be accompanied along the way by ten virtual companions: Marchet, the park ranger, Marmotin, the marmot, and Piz dal Fuorn, the mountain spirit. Each in turn appears on the GPS’s display and tells stories of the various points of interest at which you stand – motivating even the youngest hikers to carry on to the next one.

3.00 pm - Wilderness oases

The only hotel in the entire National Park, with a history of 500 years, awaits at the end of the Champlönch kids’ path. Impossible to miss or ignore, it will be equally difficult to resist the temptation to order a well-earned tasty bite to eat, and possibly an ice-cream for the courageous little troopers, before returning by coach to Zernez.

7.00 pm - There are other ways

It is certainly worth trying the truly original Engadin specialities such as capuns, maluns or pizokel. But you do not always need the typical Swiss stone pine ambience of the traditional Engadin parlours for this. Restaurant Dorta in Zuoz is one of the most original locales in the valley and is located in one of the oldest farmhouses far and wide. Here one can dine either in the old converted hayloft, the parlour or even the former dungeon, enjoying the simplicity of the surroundings just as much as the bread taken freshly from the wood-burning oven and served with each regional speciality.

9.00 pm - A royal finale

Nobly enthroned high above the town of Zuoz, the Castell is a design-hotel, oasis of well-being, meeting-point of the cultivated, and hotspot for gourmets and night-owls all rolled into one. The sensual red bar designed by the Zurich architect, Gabrielle Hächler, and the multi-media artist, Pipolotti Rist, is the place to be for a nightcap.

Tuesday: The valley by bike

10.00 am - A leisurely tour of the lakes by bike

From Pontresina to Silvaplana: 30 kilometres, 415 meters of elevation change, and numerous bathing possibilities. This bike tour leads past virtually every lake in the region. The biggest challenge is resisting the urge to jump from the saddle and flop in the sand at the first one, as the first stage of this easy loop begins in Pontresina and leads past Celerina to the idyllic Lej da Staz.

11.00 am - Water haven

This cherished bathing lake is well-loved not only because of its blue water, but also for the creative cuisine of the Lej da Staz restaurant located on its shore. Any who find it still a bit early in the day, or still a bit too chilly to take a refreshing dip in the lake, can take a seat instead on the restaurant’s sun terrace and enjoy a – somewhat prophylactic at this point – piece of pie or even an aperitif.

12.00 pm - Piece of cake

Freshly replenished, and at ease with the world, it is time for a quick descent to the Lake of St. Moritz and beyond to the village, and then further to the Lake of Champfèr. The final gentle ascent leads towards Surlej.

1.00 pm - Picnic at the lake

The Lake of Silvaplana is not simply a kitesurfer’s playground, as its shores are also equipped with charming, well-placed picnic and barbecue spots. For all who are keen to kick back, this is just the place to stop for lunch, which could consist, for instance, of a dried beef sausage from Hatecke, some fresh bread from Bäckerei Bad and a revitalizing nut cake from either the Hauser or Hanselmann confectioneries.

3.00 pm - Culture on tour

All who complete this tour by e-bike are sure to have enough strength left on the way back to Pontresina for a quick detour in the Segantini Museum in St. Moritz. Food lovers with a sweet tooth will probably prefer to make their detour toward Sils Maria and Café Grond to taste the one-of-a-kind Silserkugeln pastries. P.S. Any who crave a greater challenge than the Lake Tour presented here should instead take the cable car to Corviglia in the morning, and peddle through the high-alpine mountain panorama to their heart’s content, before descending on the Flow Trail back to St. Moritz.

Wednesday: Southbound with the little red train

8.48 am - Stopover Morteratsch

Today you will be flying high: in a train between the Engadin glaciers on Bernina Pass and down the other side to the palm trees of the small Italian city of Tirano. A spectacular Alp-crossing made possible by the specially outfitted carriages of the Bernina Express of the Rhaetian Railway, or even with the normal regional train.

9.12 am - On fire for eternal ice

The hike along the glacier path from the train station at Morteratsch to the tongue of the Morteratsch Glacier is relatively short, and yet it takes you through thousands of years of geological history in brilliant natural surroundings. An educational, marked pathway from Bernina Glaciers with accompanying app informs visitors about the receding glacier and its mystical existence.

10.30 am - The birthplace of Gletscher-Mutschli cheese

This small alpine show dairy lures its guests with exceptional nourishment. Their all-you-can-eat brunch is legendary (daily until 11:45 am, closed Mondays). Afterwards one can watch the dairy master produce their famous Heutaler Alpkäse and Gletscher-Mutschli cheeses until it is time to catch the Bernina Express again, which departs at 11:31.

11.31 am - From glaciers to palm trees

This stretch of railway is deemed the most beautiful Alp-crossing and is part of the Unesco World Heritage site. Behind Pontresina, the Bernina Express climbs elegantly up the Bernina Massif to 2253 meters above sea-level, where the glaciers and sun try to outdo one another for beauty. The railway follows the grandiose topography harmoniously through 55 tunnels, over 196 bridges and inclines of up to 7% with ease, until finally arriving in Tirano.

1.15 pm - A bit of Italy

In the Veltlin, at the mouth of the Valley of Puschlav, is the small mountain city of Tirano. Although at various times throughout history this city belonged to Graubünden, whose nobles built their wonderful Palazzi here, there is still the unmistakable Italian feeling reverberating from the plazas, boulevard cafés and shops. Be sure not to miss the local specialities like dried meat (Bresaola), cheese, rye bread, buck-wheat pasta (known as Pizzoccheri), as well as other home-made pastas.

4.50 pm - Through Unesco World Heritage

The Bernina Express is now homeward bound, and the return trip will take about a half-hour longer than the way here. The sun still shines warmly over the towering peaks and glaciers above the valley and into the little red train carriages, and once again one of the most beautiful panoramas of the Alps unfolds before your eyes. At length, the train reaches Pontresina at 6:57 pm and St. Moritz at 7:15 pm, and therewith, the unforgettable journey reaches its end.

Thursday: Excitement from A to Z

10.00 am - In adventure land

Near the train station in Pontresina they are climbing, swinging and creeping, in perfect safety, upon ropes and swinging bridges high in the treetops. This ropes course, which was constructed in 2010, offers children ages 4 and up, and even grown-ups, fun and excitement upon a total of nine courses of varying difficulty. A somewhat less dizzying alternative for an athletic beginning to the day can be had with a golf lesson on one of the fabulously located courses, either in Samedan (since 1893), or Zuoz (since 2003), where the renowned Canadian golf course architect, Les Furber, achieved a masterpiece.

12.00 pm - Well-earned replenishment

The house alone is a sight to be seen: Chesa Salis in Bever, built over 400 year ago, was originally a farmhouse, and thereafter a stately mansion, and is now furnished with 18 fabulous rooms and a restaurant which has given itself over to the slow food philosophy. Whoever dines here, should take the time to relish in the act. Which, with all that is on offer, should not pose a problem …

2.00 pm - Tales at every turn

From the dreamy Engadin village of Bever there is a path which leads through the mystical countryside from tale to tale, all of which have flowed from the quills of Engadin authors and have been decorated and staged by local artists: this is Bever’s fairy tale path. Each stop along the way has been installed with giant books with tales of witches, bears and fairies. It has been rumoured that some of the tales’ characters have even come to life in romantic Val Bever. Any who finishes the walk in Spinas without having felt the magic probably was not listening carefully enough.

3.30 pm - Culinary oasis

When the Albula train line was constructed 100 years ago, the idyllic hamlet of Spinas virtually burst at its seams. Up to 400 people, mostly Italian immigrant workers and their families, lived there. All that is left now is the freshly restored Gasthaus Spinas, located at the end of Val Bever’s fairy tale path, charming its guests with regional specialities and warm hospitality. Any who are keen to experience their very own fairy tale, can order a horse-drawn carriage and be gently rocked back to Bever amid tinkling bells.

8.00 pm - Simply delicious

Cosy, simplistic and hip. In Pitschna Scena (Romansh for ‘little scene’) in Pontresina, you will feel right at home in the comfortable, Swiss stone pine parlour, while enjoying simple delicacies from the 4-star kitchen of the classy Hotel Saratz. The daily specials are written on a blackboard, and a selection of specialities in the small menu. For desert on Thursdays there are live concerts.

Friday: The full programme

10.00 am - Towering above the mountains

At 3303 meters, the Corvatsch is the highest point in the Engadin. All around the other peaks cower in the shadow of this proud chief. A well-maintained hiking path leads through the wild landscape: fragrant larches and Swiss stone pine trees provide the aroma, small gulches and sprawling sunny slopes add enticing variety, creating a scene which is out of this world.

12.00 pm - Far away from the day-to-day

Once a remote alpine ranching operation, Fuorcla Surlej is now one of the most well-loved mountain huts in the Engadin. Surrounded by pristine nature, it charms visitors not only with regional specialities but also with a spectacular view of the legendary Bernina Massif. Just sit, marvel and enjoy – and then start down toward Val Roseg.

3.00 pm - Resistance is futile

In the Roseg Gletscher restaurant at the far back of this valley, everyday life will seem ever so far away. The fact that this hospitable mountain hotel, fortunate in its utmost serene location, is not simply forgotten, must have something to do with its legendary range of deserts and pies. Give into your temptation, as afterwards comes the last, relaxing stage of the journey: a hike down enchanting Val Roseg towards Pontresina.

7.00 pm - Romantic finale

For the last evening it is necessary to do something special. A dinner in Restaurant Cà d’Oro in Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains promises to be a culinary dream-trip to the Mediterranean: in the elegant salon from the turn of the century, premium class culinary arts are celebrated, which has earned the restaurant a well-deserved Michelin Star. Any who still thirst for a bit of action afterwards can take the stairs down to the Casino St. Moritz and win back their holiday budget – full in the knowledge that, although a holiday in the Engadin does not cost the world, it is surely priceless.

Saturday

10.00 am - And finally, something sweet

A final stroll through St. Moritz is tantamount to a small culinary tour d’horizon: start at Hatecke’s chic delicatessen and butcher’s, with its extraordinary selection of dried sausages, and then head on to the confectioneries Hauser and Hanselmann with their legendary Engadin nut cakes; continue onward to the Metzgerei Heuberger, the butcher’s with an array of sausage specialities; and finally, stop in at Glattfelder where one finds coffee, caviar and other exclusive items like Swiss stone pine tea. All so you can take a bit of the beauty of the Engadin home with you.



eConciergePlan and book your vacation

Compile and book your own customised vacation using the eConcierge.

 
Follow:
Facebook Twitter YouTube Engadin St. Moritz Instagram

eConcierge

Do you have any questions?
We would be pleased to be of assistance.

T +41 81 830 00 01
Engadin.StMoritz

Discover all the inspiring things that the Engadin St. Moritz destination has to offer from the comfort of your own home. With eConcierge, you can compile and book your own, tailor-made holiday arrangement with just a click of the mouse.


Open additional search options

Additional search options


Currently, holiday apartments and additional offers cannot be reserved through eConcierge in a single booking. Please book the required offers separately.


Open additional search options

Additional search options

  1. Bitte wählen Sie eine Aktivität

Please select a package

Loading

Engadin St. Moritz in 8 Tagen

Samstag: Ankommen und abheben

 

18.00 Uhr - Über allem stehen…

…und staunen: Vom Sommer verzaubert, liegt das Oberengadin in der Nachmittagssonne. Die vier Seen funkeln wie ein Festtagscollier, das Licht ist von kristallklarer Brillanz, und rund um die Hochebene erheben sich majestätische Gebirgszüge. Eine eindrücklichere Aussicht über das Oberengadin als von Muottas Muragl aus gibt es nicht – der ideale Ort, um den Ferienanfang so richtig zu zelebrieren!

19.00 Uhr - Betörender Logenplatz

Das Sunset-Dinner auf Muottas Muragl ist ein romantisches Spektakel. Man sitzt im neuen Berggasthaus in der ersten Reihe und schaut der Natur zu, wie sie sich alle zehn Minuten in neuem Licht präsentiert. Dazu lässt man sich regionale Köstlichkeiten munden. Und staunt auch ein wenig über diesen Betrieb, der als erstes Plus-Energiehotel der Alpen mehr Strom produziert, als er verbraucht.

21.00 Uhr - Blaue Stunde

Das letzte bläuliche Licht des Tages schimmert hinter dem Alpenkamm hervor. Man möchte den Moment für ewig festhalten, aber ist schon glücklich, wenn man ihn ein klein wenig hinauszögern kann: auf einem kurzen Spaziergang hinauf zum Aussichtspunkt. Dann geht’s mit der historischen Standseilbahn zurück ins Tal – und ab in die Ferienwohnung. Morgen ist auch noch ein Tag.

Sonntag: Entspannen am See

10.00 Uhr - Schillerndes St. Moritz

Die legendäre Alpendestination scheint noch nicht ganz wach, doch bereits wirft die Vormittagssonne verspielte Schatten auf die Fassaden: der ideale Moment, um bei einem Spaziergang der Geschichte von St. Moritz auf die Spur zu kommen. Im Dorfkern verzaubern typische Engadiner Bauten wie die Chesa Veglia (ein Bauernhaus aus dem Jahr 1658), während die Chesa Futura des britischen Architekten Norman Foster mit seiner Fassade aus 250'000 Lärchenschindeln aus dem Dächermeer ragt. Und oben, auf dem Hügel, setzt sich das Wahrzeichen in Szene: der schiefe Turm aus dem 12. Jahrhundert.

11.00 Uhr - Auf die exklusive Tour

Gegenüber dem schiefen Turm thront eine besondere Legende: Das Kulm Hotel wurde als erstes Luxus-Hotel der Alpen 1856 von Johannes Badrutt eröffnet. Gerade für Nicht-Hotelgäste lohnt sich ein Espresso oder ein Tee in einem der Fünfsternehotels, die alle ihren ganz eigenen Charakter beweisen: Das «Kulm Hotel» präsentiert sich diskret-elegant, das «Suvretta House» britisch-distinguiert, das „Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains“ auf legere Weise selbstbewusst und das «Badrutt’s Palace» überaus genussfreudig. Letzteres dominiert die berühmte Via Serlas: Die «grösste Outdoor-Luxus-Shoppingmall der Welt» führt vom Dorfkern zum Bahnhof und vereint die berühmtesten Modelabels.

12.00 Uhr - Wo alles begann

Vor mehr als 150 Jahren wurde in St. Moritz zwar der Wintertourismus erfunden. Doch die Geschichte des berühmten Ortes beginnt früher, vor über 3000 Jahren, als hier die ersten Heilquellen gefasst wurden und die halbe Welt ins Alpendorf pilgerte, um das besonders eisenhaltige Elixier zu trinken. Das kann man auch heute noch tun: Im Heilbad St. Moritz in St. Moritz Bad spendet ein Brunnen Heilwasser für alle, und im Hotel Kempinski ist die Original-Quellfassung zu bestaunen.

12.30 Uhr - Es ist angerichtet

Farbenfroh, lichtdurchflutet und trendy: Das Hotel Giardino Mountain in Champfèr eines der acht Oberengadiner 5-Sterne-Häuser. In seinen Restaurants verwöhnt es auch Nicht-Hotelgäste mit regionalen Köstlichkeiten und mediterranen Fisch-Spezialitäten. Dabei strahlt es so viel Gemütlichkeit aus, dass man sich fast zwingen muss, den Sonnenplatz auf der idyllischen Terrasse wieder zu verlassen.

14.00 Uhr - Tanzende Kite-Drachen

Jeden Tag, kurz nach Mittag, setzt der Malojawind ein. Dann gibt es für die Kite-Surfer kein Halten mehr: Zu Dutzenden lassen sie ihre bunten Kite-Drachen steigen und sich von ihnen über den Silvaplanersee ziehen. Tollkühne Sprünge, rasante Rennen: Ihnen vom Ufer aus zuzuschauen, ist ein wahres Spektakel.

14.30 Uhr - Idyllisches Badeplätzchen

Ein schöner Spazierweg führt dem Champfèrersee entlang und durch den Lärchenwald zur ehemaligen Olympiaschanze – und plötzlich steht man vor einem kleinen, wunderbar malerischen See: Dank seiner geschützten Lage und dem kleinen Strand an seinem Nordufer gehört der Lej Marsch neben dem Lej da Staz zu den beliebtesten Badeseen des Engadins.

17.00 Uhr - Chillen und Grillen

So entspannt können Ferien sein, wenn man sich an die Tipps der Einheimischen hält: Das Picknick aus dem Rucksack entpuppt sich in dieser Atmosphäre als wahres Festtagsmahl, immer mal wieder erfrischt ein Bad im Lej Marsch, während man ansonsten auf dem Rücken liegt und wenigstens ein einziges kleines Wölkchen zu erspähen versucht.

19.00 Uhr - Goldene Zeiten

Gemütlich geht’s durch den sommerlich duftenden Wald und entlang am St. Moritzersee zurück: Die Szenerie scheint in Gold getaucht. Und genau so fühlt man sich auch – wie auf Watte gebettet, schwerelos im Jetzt angekommen.

Montag: Wilde Wunderwelt

9.00 Uhr - Picknick im Paradies

Vor den Toren von Zernez breitet sich der 172 Quadratkilometer grosse, einzige Schweizer Nationalpark aus. Das spektakuläre Naturschutzgebiet ist Heimat von unzähligen seltenen Alpentieren und lässt in einer unberührten, wilden Gebirgslandschaft der Natur freien Lauf. Traumhafte Wanderwege führen durch eine nahezu unberührte Bergwelt – und am Wegrand warten zauberhafte Picknickplätze. Deshalb deckt man sich in Zernez am besten mit ein paar lokalen Köstlichkeiten ein, etwa mit dem berühmten Salsiz aus der Delikatessen-Metzgerei Hatecke.

9.30 Uhr - Auf dem Rücken des Geiers

Seit Mai 2008 beginnt der Nationalpark mitten in Zernez: im neuen Besucherzentrum: Drei grossartige Kurzfilme zeigen den Nationalpark zuerst aus überraschender Perspektive, bevor es auf individuelle Entdeckungsreise geht – die Erklärungen erfolgen über ein Audiogerät, das man selber steuert. Es gibt viel anzufassen und auszuprobieren, denn der Nationalpark versteht sich als verspieltes kleines Wunder, das berührt und nicht belehrt. So fliegt man etwa auf dem Rücken eines Bartgeiers über den «Emotionalpark» – und staunt.

11.30 Uhr - Mit GPS spielend unterwegs

Direkt vor dem Besucherzentrum wartet das Postauto. Im Nationalpark, beim «Parkplatz 1» startet der «Kinderpfad Champlönch», der in zwei bis drei abwechslungsreichen Stunden zum Hotel Il Fuorn führt. Wer ein GPS-Set mietet, erhält zehn virtuelle Begleiter mit auf den Weg: von Marchet, dem Parkwächter, über Marmotin, dem Murmeltier, bis zum Piz dal Fuorn, dem Berggeist. Abwechslungsweise erscheinen sie auf dem Display des GPS-Geräts und erzählen ihre Geschichte über die Orte, an denen man sich grade befindet. Das motiviert selbst Knirpse zum Weiterwandern.

15.00 Uhr - Oase in der Wildnis

Das einzige Hotel im ganzen Nationalpark (und dies seit 500 Jahren) wartet am Ende des Kinderpfads Champlönch. Links liegen lassen geht nicht – und bis das Postauto zurück fährt nach Zernez muss die Zeit ganz einfach noch reichen für ein währschaftes Zvieri oder ein Eis für die Kleinen.

19.00 Uhr - Es geht auch anders

Natürlich muss man sie einfach probieren, wahre Engadiner Spezialitäten wie Capuns, Maluns oder Pizokel. Aber es braucht ja nicht immer ein Arvenholzambiente zu sein. Das «Dorta» in Zuoz gilt als das originellste Lokal im Tal und befindet sich im ältesten Bauernhaus weit und breit. Man tafelt im Heugaden, im Stübli oder auf Anfrage auch im ehemaligen Kerker und geniesst die Unkompliziertheit ebenso wie das frische Holzofenbrot zu den regionalen Spezialitäten.

21.00 Uhr - Ein fürstliches Finale

Erhaben thront es hoch über Zuoz: Das «Castell» ist Design-Hotel, Wohlfühloase und Treffpunkt für Kulturfreunde ebenso wie Hotspot für Gourmets und Nachtschwärmer. Die sinnliche Rote Bar der Zürcher Architektin Gabrielle Hächler und der Multimediakünstlerin Pipilotti Rist ist der «place to be» für eine Schlummertrunk.

Dienstag: Mit dem Bike durchs Tal

10.00 Uhr - Seentour für Genussradler

Von Pontresina nach Silvaplana: 30 Kilometer Länge, 415 Meter Höhenunterschied und jede Menge Bademöglichkeiten: Die Engadiner Seentour führt an praktisch allen Seen der Region vorbei. Die grösste Herausforderung besteht darin, nicht schon beim ersten vom Sattel zu steigen und sich ans Ufer zu legen, denn die erste Etappe der einfachen Rundtour beginnt in Pontresina und führt über Celerina zum idyllischen Stazersee.

11.00 Uhr - Oase am Wasser

Der beliebte Badesee verführt nicht nur mit seinem blauen Wasser, sondern auch mit dem Restaurant Lej da Staz und dessen kreativer Küche. Wem es also noch zu früh oder zu kühl ist für ein erfrischendes Bad, setzt sich auf die Sonnenterrasse des Restaurants und gönnt sich quasi prophylaktisch ein Stück Kuchen oder nimmt einen Apéro.

12.00 Uhr - Locker vom Hocker

Frisch gestärkt und mit sich und der Welt zufrieden, geht’s zum St. Moritzersee runter, ihm entlang nach St. Moritz Dorf und weiter zum Lej da Champfèr. Der letzte, sanfte Aufstieg führt Richtung Surlej.

13.00 Uhr - Picknick am See

Der Silvaplanersee ist nicht nur Tummelplatz der Kitesurfer. Er verführt an seinen Ufern mit herrlich gelegenen Picknick- und Grillplätzen. Wer heute ein bisschen auf die einfache Tour unterwegs sein möchte, packt jetzt seinen Lunch aus, der zum Beispiel aus Salsiz von Hatecke, Brot von der Bäckerei Bad und Nusstorte von der Confiserie Hauser oder Confiserie Hanselmann bestehen könnte.

15.00 Uhr - Kultur on Tour

Wer die Tour mit dem e-Bike macht, hat auf dem Rückweg nach Pontresina garantiert noch genügend Kraft für einen Abstecher ins Segantini-Museum in St. Moritz. Schleckmäuler sollten derweil den kleinen Umweg über Sils Maria unter die Räder nehmen: Dort werden im Grond Café die berühmten Silserkugeln serviert. P.S. Wem die Seentour nicht Herausforderung genug ist, nimmt morgens die Bahn auf die Corviglia und strampelt nach Lust und Laune durchs Hochgebirgspanorama, bevor er entspannt auf dem «Flow Trail» nach St. Moritz zurückkehrt.

Mittwoch: Mit der Kleinen Roten in den Süden

8.48 Uhr - Zwischenhalt Morteratsch

Heute geht es hoch hinaus: in einem Zug zwischen den Engadiner Gletschern auf den Berninapass und hinunter zu den Palmen des italienischen Städtchens Tirano. Möglich macht diese spektakuläre Alpenüberquerung der Bernina Express der Rhätischen Bahn oder mit dem Regionalzug.

9.12 Uhr - Feuer und Flamme fürs ewige Eis

Die Wanderung auf dem Gletscherpfad vom Bahnhof Morteratsch zum Ende des Morteratsch-Gletschers ist ein kurzer Weg, der durch Jahrtausende der Erdgeschichte und eine fulminante Natur führt. Ein Lehrpfad von Bernina Glaciers und deren App informiert über den Rückzug des Gletschers und sein geheimnisvolles Eigenleben.

10.30 Uhr - Hier entsteht das Gletscher-Mutschli

In der Alpschaukäserei Morteratsch lockt eine besondere Stärkung: Der Brunch à discretion ist legendär (täglich bis 11.45, Montag geschlossen). Danach kann man dem Alpmeister zuschauen, wie der berühmte Heutaler Alpkäse und das Gletscher-Mutschli entstehen, bevor um 11.31 Uhr in Pontresina der Bernina Express definitiv Fahrt aufnimmt.

11.31 Uhr - Von Gletschern und Palmen

Die Strecke gilt als schönste Alpenüberquerung und ist Teil des Unesco-Welterbes: Hinter Pontresina erklimmt der Bernina Express äusserst elegant das Bernina-Massiv bis auf 2253 Meter, wo die Gletscher mit der Sonne um die Wette glitzern. Vollkommen harmonisch fügt sich die Bahnstrecke in die grandiose Gebirgswelt ein. 55 Tunnels, 196 Brücken und Steigungen von bis zu 70 Promillen meistert der Zug mit Leichtigkeit, bis er schliesslich Tirano erreicht.

13.15 Uhr - Ein Stück Italien

Im oberen Veltlin, am Eingang des Puschlavs, liegt das Städtchen Tirano. Obwohl die Bündner zeitweise über Tirano geherrscht und hier wunderbare Palazzi erbaut haben, verströmt der Ort auf seinen Plätzen, in seinen Boulevardcafés und mit seinen Läden eine gehörige Portion Italianità. Besonders lohnenswert sind Spezialitäten wie Trockenfleisch (Bresaola), Käse, Roggenbrot, Pizzoccheri und andere Teigwaren.

16.50 Uhr - Durchs Unesco-Welterbe

Der Bernina Express macht sich auf den Heimweg. Dafür braucht er eine gute halbe Stunde länger als auf dem Hinweg. Noch schickt dem Gipfel die Sonne ihre strahlenden Grüsse über die Gletscher in die Abteile der «kleinen Roten», noch einmal liegt einem eines der schönsten Alpenpanoramen zu Füssen, bevor die Bahn um 18.57 in Pontresina und um 19.15 Uhr in St. Moritz hält und die Passagiere mit magischen Erinnerungen in den Abend entlässt.

Donnerstag: Spannung von A bis Z

10.00 Uhr - Im Abenteuerland

Beim Bahnhof Pontresina klettert, schaukelt und wandelt man gut gesichert auf Seilen und schwebenden Brücken zwischen den Baumwipfeln. Der 2010 eröffnete Hochseilgarten bietet Kindern ab vier Jahren, aber auch den Erwachsenen Spass und Abwechslung auf neun Parcours unterschiedlicher Schwierigkeitsgrade. Eine etwas weniger schwindelerregende Alternative für den sportlichen Einstieg in den Tag bietet eine Lektion Schnuppergolf auf einem der beiden prächtig gelegenen Plätzen in Samedan (seit 1893) und Zuoz (seit 2003): Dem renommierten kanadischen Golfplatzarchitekten Les Furber ist hier ein Meisterstück gelungen.

12.00 Uhr - Verdiente Stärkung

Allein das Haus ist eine Sehenswürdigkeit: Die über 400-jährige «Chesa Salis» in Bever war ursprünglich Bauernhaus, danach stattliches Herrenhaus und nun ausgestattet mit 18 zauberhaften Zimmern – und einem Restaurant, das sich ganz der «Slow Food»-Philosophie verschrieben hat. Wer hier isst, nimmt sich Zeit zu geniessen. Was bei diesem Angebot kein Problem sein sollte…

14.00 Uhr - Geschichten auf Schritt und Tritt

Vom verträumten Engadiner Dorf Bever führt in mystisch-wilder Natur ein Pfad von Geschichte zu Geschichte, die alle aus den Federn von Engadiner Autorinnen stammen und von lokalen Künstlern mit Skulpturen inszeniert wurden: der Märchenweg Bever. Die Werke signalisieren die Posten des Märchenwegs und bergen riesige Bücher mit Geschichten über Hexen, Bären und Feen. Man munkelt gar, im romantischen Bevertal würde so manche Märchenfigur zu echtem Leben erwachen. Wer ohne märchenhaftes Erlebnis in Spinas landet, hat wohl nicht richtig hingehört.

15.30 Uhr - Kulinarische Oase

Als vor hundert Jahren die Albulabahn gebaut wurde, platzte der idyllische Weiler Spinas aus allen Nähten. Bis zu 400 Menschen, vor allem italienische Gastarbeiter und ihre Familien, sollen hier gelebt haben. Geblieben ist das heute frisch herausgeputzte Gasthaus Spinas, das am Ende des Märchenwegs mit Bündner Spezialitäten verführt und mit herzlicher Gastfreundschaft verzaubert..Wer jetzt noch sein ganz persönliches Märchen erleben möchte, bestellt die Pferdekutsche und lässt sich unter fröhlichem Gebimmel zurück nach Bever schaukeln.

20.00 Uhr - Einfach köstlich

Gemütlich, unkompliziert und angesagt: In der «Pitschna Scena» in Pontresina fühlt man sich wie zuhause in der guten (Arven-)Stube und geniesst einfache Köstlichkeiten aus der Gourmetküche des 4-Stern-Superior-Hotels Saratz. Die Tagesempfehlungen stehen am schwarzen Brett, eine Auswahl an Spezialitäten in der kleinen Karte. Und am Donnerstag gibt’s zum Dessert Live-Konzerte.

Freitag: Das volle Programm

10.00 Uhr - Über allen Bergen

Mit 3303 Metern ist der Corvatsch der höchste Punkt im Oberengadin. Rundherum verneigen sich die Gipfel vor dem stolzen Häuptling. Und der gepflegte Wanderweg führt durch eine gar wilde Landschaft: Duftende Lärchen- und Arvenwälder sorgen für eine würzige Alpenluft, kleine Schluchten und weite Sonnenhänge für Abwechslung in einer Szenerie wie nicht von dieser Welt.

12.00 Uhr - Fernab vom Alltag

Einst ein abgeschiedener Alpbetrieb, gilt die «Fuorcla Surlej» heute als eine der beliebtesten Berghütten des Engadins. Umgeben von einer ursprünglichen Natur, verwöhnt sie ihre Besucher nicht nur mit regionalen Spezialitäten, sondern auch mit einer spektakulären Aussicht aufs legendäre Bernina-Massiv. Man sitzt, staunt, geniesst – und macht sich auf Richtung Rosegtal.

15.00 Uhr - Widerstand zwecklos

Im Restaurant Roseg Gletscher zuhinterst im Tal ist der Alltag weit weg. Dass das gastfreundliche Berghotel in privilegierter Ruhe dennoch nicht einfach vergessen geht, muss wohl auch an seinem legendären Dessert- und Kuchenbuffet liegen. Man darf der Versuchung ruhig erliegen, denn noch wartet die letzte, gemütliche Etappe: die Wanderung durchs verwunschene Rosegtal Richtung Pontresina.

19.00 Uhr - Romantisches Finale

Am letzten Abend darf es was Besonderes sein. Ein Dinner im Restaurant Cà d’Oro im Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains verspricht eine kulinarische Traumreise ans Mittelmeer: Im eleganten Salon aus der Jahrhundertwende wird Kochkunst der Königsklasse zelebriert, die sich zu Recht einen Michelin-Stern verdient hat. Und wer danach noch voller Tatendrang ist, nimmt die Treppe ins Untergeschoss und versucht, im Spielcasino St. Moritz das Ferienbudget wieder einzuspielen – wohl wissend allerdings, dass Ferien im Engadin nicht die Welt kosten, aber unbezahlbar sind.

Samstag

10.00 Uhr - Köstlichkeiten zum Schluss

Ein letzter Spaziergang durch St. Moritz gleicht einer kleinen kulinarischen Tour d’Horizon: Er führt vorbei am schicken Shop der Delikatessen-Metzgerei Hatecke mit ihrem aussergewöhnlichen Salsiz-Angebot, an den Konditoreien Hauser und Hanselmann mit ihren legendären Bündner Nusstorten, an der «Metzgerei Heuberger» mit ihren Wurstspezialitäten und nicht zuletzt an «Glattfelder» mit seinen Kaffee-, Kaviar- und weiteren Exklusivitäten wie dem Arventee. Damit man die schönen Seiten des Engadins möglichst auch mit nach Hause nehmen kann.



eConciergeFERIEN PLANEN / BUCHEN

Mit dem eConcierge massgeschneiderte Ferien gestalten und buchen.

 
Besuchen:
Facebook Twitter YouTube Engadin St. Moritz Instagram

eConcierge

Haben Sie Fragen?
Gerne helfen wir Ihnen weiter

T +41 81 830 00 01
Engadin.StMoritz

Entdecken Sie das inspirierende Angebot der Destination Engadin St. Moritz schon von zu Hause aus. Mit dem eConcierge können Sie Ihre massgeschneiderten Ferien per Mausklick gestalten und direkt buchen.


Detailsuche öffnen

Detailsuche


Ferienwohnungen können derzeit noch nicht in einer gemeinsamen Buchung mit anderen Angeboten über den eConcierge reserviert werden. Bitte buchen Sie Ihre gewünschten Zusatzleistungen separat.


Orts- und Detailsuche öffnen

Detailsuche

  1. Bitte wählen Sie eine Aktivität

Bitte wählen Sie eine Pauschale aus

Loading