Engadin St. Moritz in 48 Hours

Friday

5 pm - Arrive and immerse yourself

… as the glowing sun sets on the snow-covered mountain tops. And as the blue twilight hour bathes the Engadin in magical light, the mood around the Lej da Staz (Lake of Staz) is all the more enchanting. The perfect setting, then, to enjoy a stroll, clear the head, and leave the worries of everyday life behind. The fairy tale can begin.

6.30 pm - An apéritif with style

The Engadin’s culture of hotel hospitality is legendary. No fewer than seven five-star hotels in Pontresina, Sils and St. Moritz celebrate good taste. Every evening their foyers, bars and lobbies are transformed into the perfect setting for grand entrances and intimate get-togethers. Nor is there any need to feel intimidated by such occasions. A warm and hospitable welcome is always guaranteed, even in casual attire.

8 pm - Starry nights

As the canopy of stars sparkle in the night skies above, gourmets residing in the Engadin are transported to other spheres by no fewer than seven Michelin stars (and 426 Gault-Millau points). The Gastro Guide (www.gastro-engadin.ch) is packed full of information to help with that all-important choice of restaurant.


Saturday

7.45 am - ‘White Carpet’ on the Corviglia

They say the early bird catches the worm, and indeed, those who venture out first onto the freshly prepared slopes are certain to enjoy an unforgettable experience. The mountain railways and cableways roll into action at 7.45 am on the dot, whisking winter sports enthusiasts up to the Corviglia in time for the sunrise. And as the vast expanses of slopes sparkle and gleam in the first light of day, the endorphins are set racing, too.

11.30 am - Lunch is served!

With no fewer than 15 mountain restaurants and chalets displaying such a great taste in food, you will certainly be spoilt for choice, if only temporarily. Once you’re seated at a table, there’s nowhere else you would rather be. The Piz Nair Panoramic Restaurant has the best views of the Engadin, but just below it (and something of an insider’s tip) is the Lej da la Pesch alpine hut with keenly priced dishes of the day and wonderful salads.

2 pm - Tracking the elite athletes

There are more than one hundred kilometres of exciting pistes on Corviglia/Marguns. Whether it’s the official Women’s World Cup piste with views of the five-star panorama or the black category Olympic piste through untamed terrain, winter sports around here always mean total immersion in a unique natural setting.

3 pm - Sweet temptations

The New York Times rates it as the best crèmeschnitte in the world: the vanilla miracle that is the crèmeschnitte at the stylish El Paradiso mountain restaurant certainly gets the gourmet taste buds racing. It’s also a world record holder: in 2008 the world’s longest crèmeschnitte – at 1.4 km – was ‘constructed’ here between the El Paradiso mountain chalet and the Signal cableway station.

7 pm - Spirited shanty shack

Once upon a time the Baracca stood in a remote mountain valley, providing shelter for tunnel workers. That is, until jack-of-all-trades Max Schneider relocated it to the Signal cableway car park, where it gained a cult following as a bohemian watering hole for elite artists. Patrons are invited to dine at long tables, chat about everything under the sun, and celebrate the beautiful things of life (often into the wee hours of the morning).

10 pm - For night owls and revellers

St. Moritz certainly has some of the finest parties around. Whether it’s the legendary Dracula’s Club, the no less fashionable King’s Club or the Vivai at Hotel Steffani, St. Moritz is renowned for turning night into day.


Sunday

9 am - Spectacle ‘on the rocks’

The ideal way to clear your head: a stroll from Celerina along the world’s one and only natural ice bob run to the big bend known as the Horseshoe. This is where the pros thunder past at spectacular speeds. Which, by the way, is something amateurs can try their hand at too, as a passenger on a ‘taxi ride’ in a four-man bob. Besides the Olympia Bob Run the legendary Cresta Run is also built out of natural ice, every winter. Its members race down the ice run (face down!), some of them in historical costumes.

11 am - A blissful journey

It promises the most beautiful views anywhere in the Engadin (and perhaps even in the world). The historical funicular railway between Celerina and Pontresina makes the journey up to Muottas Muragl. The summit then belongs entirely to winter hikers, from a short stroll to the inspiring Philosophers’ Trail.

12 noon - The best seats in the house

The five-star panoramic view is of course there to be admired from any point along the ridge. However, the new Romantik Hotel on Muottas Muragl does offer the very best (heated) seats in the house, not to mention the finest Grisons specialities. And you needn’t have any qualms about enjoying such luxuries. After all, over the course of a year, the first plus-energy hotel in the Alps generates more electricity than it consumes.

2 pm - Plenty of thrills

High time now to turn your back on the mountain – and race down the region’s greatest toboggan run. The sleds for the thrilling, winding 4 km course are available for hire from the valley station.

3.30 pm - Where it all began

Winter tourism was invented in St. Moritz 150 years ago. However, the famous resort’s history began much earlier, more than 3,000 years ago, when the first mineral springs were tapped and half the known world made a pilgrimage to the alpine village to drink from the particularly iron-rich elixir. It’s a tradition upheld to this very day, with a spring at the spa in St. Moritz Bad still dispensing healing waters for all.

3.45 pm - Prime locations

St. Moritz is arguably at its most glamorous along Via Serlas. The ‘world’s greatest outdoor luxury shopping mall’ stretches from the railway station to the village centre and boasts the most luxurious of fashion stores. It is also the site of the legendary Badrutt’s Palace Hotel, which has often been referred to as ‘the drawing room of St. Moritz’. For non-residents too, savouring an espresso in the hotel lobby is always a treat, with the magnificent setting a spectacle in itself.

4.15 pm - Time-honoured witnesses

An enjoyable way of retracing the history of St. Moritz is to take a small tour of the resort town. In the centre itself, typical Engadin buildings such as the Chesa Veglia (a farmhouse dating from 1658) are a delight. Soaring out of the ocean of rooftops is the Chesa Futura with a façade of 250,000 larch shingles designed by British architect Norman Foster. The hustle and bustle of vibrant village life is to be found along Via Maestra. And showcased up on the hill, high above the village, is the local landmark, the 12th century leaning tower.

5 pm - Tea time!

Adjacent to the leaning tower stand a particular legend. The Kulm Hotel was opened by Johannes Badrutt in 1856 as the first luxury hotel of the Alps, and it was on these premises that Switzerland’s first electric light was switched on at Christmas in 1878. Even for non-residents it is well worth enjoying afternoon tea in the five-star hotel’s historical setting. In fact, it’s something to enjoy in every one of St. Moritz’s luxury hotels; after all, each one has its own signature style and character. While the Kulm is discreetly elegant, the Carlton is splendidly fashionable, the Badrutt’s Palace an utter indulgence, the Suvretta House quintessentially British, the Giardino young and modern, and the Kempinski informally self-assured.



eConciergePlan and book your vacation

Compile and book your own customised vacation using the eConcierge.

 
Follow:
Facebook Twitter YouTube Engadin St. Moritz Instagram

eConcierge

Do you have any questions?
We would be pleased to be of assistance.

T +41 81 830 00 01
Engadin.StMoritz

Discover all the inspiring things that the Engadin St. Moritz destination has to offer from the comfort of your own home. With eConcierge, you can compile and book your own, tailor-made holiday arrangement with just a click of the mouse.


Open additional search options

Additional search options


Currently, holiday apartments and additional offers cannot be reserved through eConcierge in a single booking. Please book the required offers separately.


Open additional search options

Additional search options

  1. Bitte wählen Sie eine Aktivität

Please select a package

Loading

Engadin St. Moritz in 48 Stunden

150 Jahre Wintertourismus, 350 km traumhafte Pisten und „5 O’Clock Tea“ in den 5 Sterne Hotels.

Freitag

17.00 Uhr - Ankommen und Eintauchen

Über den weissen Bergspitzen verglüht der Tag. Die blaue Stunde färbt das Oberengadin in magisches Licht und sorgt am Stazersee für besonders zauberhafte Stimmungen. Die richtige Kulisse also, um bei einem Spaziergang den Kopf zu lüften und Abstand zu gewinnen vom Alltag. Das Märchen kann beginnen.

18.30 Uhr - Apéro mit Stil

Die Hotelkultur im Oberengadin ist legendär: In Pontresina, Sils und St. Moritz zelebrieren sieben Fünfsternehäuser den guten Geschmack und verwandeln sich in ihren Foyers, Bars und Hallen allabendlich zu Bühnen für grosse und kleine Auftritte. Schwellenangst ist trotzdem unbegründet: Zum Apéro ist man auch in entspannter Garderobe herzlich willkommen.

20.00 Uhr - Sternenklare Nächte

Während am Himmel das Sternenuniversum funkelt, lassen sich Gourmets im Oberengadin von nicht weniger als acht Michelin-Sternen und 426 Gault-Millau-Punkten in andere Sphären entführen. Die richtige Wahl des Lokals erleichtert der informative Gastro Guide.


Samstag

07.45 Uhr - «White Carpet» auf Corviglia

Morgenstund hat Gold im Mund: Wer als Erster über die frisch präparierten Pisten schwingen will, geniesst hier ein unvergessliches Erlebnis. Bereits um Punkt 7:45 Uhr rollen die Bergbahnen an und bringen Wintersportler zum Sonnenaufgang auf die Corviglia. Weite, breite Pisten leuchten im ersten Licht des Tages und sorgen für wahre Endorphin-Schübe.

11.30 Uhr - Es ist angerichtet

Wenn gleich 15 Bergrestaurants und Hütten guten Geschmack beweisen, bedeutet das nur vorübergehend eine Qual der Wahl: Sitzt man erst an einem Tisch, möchte man nirgendwo anders mehr sein. Beste Aussichten über das Oberengadin bietet das Panoramarestaurant Piz Nair; ein kleiner, feiner Geheimtipp ist die Hütte Lej da la Pesch mit ihren feinen Tagestellern und herrlichen Salaten etwas unterhalb.

14.00 Uhr - Den Spitzensportlern auf der Spur

Über hundert variantenreiche Pistenkilometer begeistern auf Corviglia/Marguns. Ob auf der offiziellen Weltcup-Piste der Damen mit Sicht ins 5-Sterne-Panorama oder auf der schwarzen Olympiapiste durch wildes Gelände: Wintersport bedeutet hier immer auch eintauchen in eine einzigartige Natur.

15.00 Uhr - Süsse Versuchung

Die New York Times hält sie für die beste Crèmeschnitte der Welt: Das Vanillewunderding im stylischen Bergrestaurant El Paradiso bringt Schleckmäuler zum Schwelgen. Und hält den Weltredkord: 2008 wurde hier, zwischen der Berghütte El Paradiso und der Station der Signalbahn, mit 1,4 Kilometern die längste Crémeschnitte der Welt «gebaut».

19.00 Uhr - Lebensfrohe Baracke

Einst stand die «Baracca» in einem fernen Bergtal und bot Tunnelarbeitern Unterschlupf. Bis Tausendsassa Max Schneider sie auf den Parkplatz der Signalbahn holte, wo sie als bohemische Edelkünstlerkneipe Kult wurde. Man tafelt an langen Tischen, parliert querbeet und zelebriert (oft bis spät in die Nacht) die schönen Seiten des Lebens.

22.00 Uhr - Reich der Nachtschwärmer

St. Moritz bedeutet Partys vom Feinsten. Ob im legendären «Dracula’s Club», im nicht minder mondänen «King’s Club» oder im «Vivai» im Hotel Steffani: In St. Moritz wird die Nacht schnell mal zum Tag.


Sonntag

09.00 Uhr - Spektakel «on the rocks»

Der ideale Weg, um den Kopf zu verlüften: ein Spaziergang von Celerina der weltweit einzigen Natureis-Bobbahn entlang bis zur grossen Kurve, dem «Horseshoe». Hier donnern die Profis besonders spektakulär vorbei. Das kann man übrigens auch als Laie tun: als Passagier auf einer «Taxifahrt» im Viererbob. Neben dem Olympia Bob Run wird jeden Winter auch der legendäre Cresta Run aus Natureis gebaut. Dessen Mitglieder jagen den Eiskanal mitunter in historischen Kostümen (bäuchlings!) hinunter.

11.00 Uhr - Fahrt ins Glück

Sie verspricht die schönste Aussicht des Engadins, vielleicht sogar der ganzen Welt: Zwischen Celerina und Pontresina führt die historische Standseilbahn auf den Muottas Muragl. Vom kurzen Spaziergang bis zum inspirierenden Philosophenweg: Dieser Gipfel gehört ganz den Winterwanderern.

12.00 Uhr - Logenplatz der Genüsse

5-Sterne-Panorama auf dem Aussichtsberg: Das neue Romantikhotel auf Muottas Muragl bietet an vorderster Front neben feinen Bündner Spezialitäten geheizte Logenplätze. Und die darf man mit gutem Gewissen geniessen: Das erste Plus-Energiehotel der Alpen produziert, übers Jahr gesehen, mehr Strom, als es verbraucht.

14.00 Uhr - Rasantes Vergnügen

Höchste Zeit, dem Berg den Buckel runter zu rutschen – auf der schönsten Schlittelbahn der Region. Die Gefährte für den 4 Kilometer langen, kurvenreichen Spass kann man an der Talstation mieten.

15.30 Uhr - Wo alles begann

Vor 150 Jahren wurde in St. Moritz der Wintertourismus erfunden. Aber die Geschichte des berühmten Ortes beginnt früher, vor über 3000 Jahren, als hier die ersten Heilquellen gefasst wurden und die halbe Welt ins Alpendorf pilgerte, um das besonders eisenhaltige Elixier zu trinken. Das kann man auch heute noch tun: Im Heilbad St. Moritz in St. Moritz Bad spendet ein Brunnen Heilwasser für alle.

15.45 Uhr - Hochkarätige Adressen

Besonders schillernd präsentiert sich St. Moritz an der Via Serlas. Die «grösste Outdoor-Luxus-Shoppingmall der Welt» führt vom Bahnhof zum Dorfkern und vereint die luxuriösesten Mode- und Schmuckgeschäfte. Hier steht auch das legendäre Badrutt’s Palace Hotel, das oft als das «Wohnzimmer von St. Moritz» bezeichnet wird: Auch für Nicht-Hotelgäste lohnt sich ein Espresso in der Hotellobby – die Szenerie ist ein Schauspiel der Sonderklasse!

16.15 Uhr - Historische Zeugen

Der Geschichte von St. Moritz kommt man auf einem kleinen Rundgang auf die Spur: Im Dorfkern verzaubern typische Engadiner Bauten wie die Chesa Veglia (ein Bauernhaus aus dem Jahr 1658). Die Chesa Futura des britischen Architekten Norman Foster ragt mit seiner Fassade aus 250'000 Lärchenschindeln aus dem Dächermeer. An der Via Maestra pulsiert das Dorfleben. Und oben, auf dem Hügel, setzt sich das Wahrzeichen in Szene: der schiefe Turm aus dem 12. Jahrhundert.

17.00 Uhr Tea Time!

Neben dem schiefen Turm thront eine besondere Legende: Das Kulm Hotel wurde als erstes Luxus-Hotel der Alpen 1856 von Johannes Badrutt eröffnet, und hier brannte an Weihnachten 1878 das erste elektrische Licht der Schweiz. Es lohnt sich auch für Nicht-Hotelgäste, im historischen Ambiente des Fünfsternehotels einen «Five O’Clock Tea» zu geniessen. Das ist übrigens in allen Luxushotels von St. Moritz möglich, wobei jedes seinen eigenen Charakter zeigt: Das «Kulm» präsentiert sich diskret-elegant, das «Carlton» glanzvoll-mondän, das «Badrutt’s Palace» überaus genussfreudig, das «Suvretta House» britisch-distinguiert, das «Giardino» jung und modern und das Kempinski auf legère Weise selbstbewusst.



eConciergeFERIEN PLANEN / BUCHEN

Mit dem eConcierge massgeschneiderte Ferien gestalten und buchen.

 
Engadin St. Moritz auf einen Blick
Besuchen:
Facebook Twitter YouTube Engadin St. Moritz Instagram

eConcierge

Haben Sie Fragen?
Gerne helfen wir Ihnen weiter

T +41 81 830 00 01
Engadin.StMoritz

Entdecken Sie das inspirierende Angebot der Destination Engadin St. Moritz schon von zu Hause aus. Mit dem eConcierge können Sie Ihre massgeschneiderten Ferien per Mausklick gestalten und direkt buchen.


Detailsuche öffnen

Detailsuche


Ferienwohnungen können derzeit noch nicht in einer gemeinsamen Buchung mit anderen Angeboten über den eConcierge reserviert werden. Bitte buchen Sie Ihre gewünschten Zusatzleistungen separat.


Orts- und Detailsuche öffnen

Detailsuche

  1. Bitte wählen Sie eine Aktivität

Bitte wählen Sie eine Pauschale aus

Loading