Engadin St. Moritz in 60 Hours

Thursday

6 pm - Arrive and take a deep breath

Is there a nicer sound than the crunching of fresh snow underfoot? Exactly – so let’s get out there! Wrapped up nice and warm let’s set off for an evening stroll through Samedan. And in a matter of minutes the crisp mountain air has cleared our head of all our everyday worries. After just a few steps through the romantic village setting we feel calm and collected – and ready to enjoy a special form of relaxation…

7 pm - Switch off and immerse yourself

The Mineral Pool & Spa Samedan promises pure enjoyment for body and soul. Switzerland’s first ‘vertical’ mineral spa is certain to enchant with a dream world geared to all the senses and set out on three floors. Within the atmospheric architectural setting guests bathe their way through a maze of bathing pools and steam rooms, right up to the whirlpool under starry skies.

Friday

9 am - One full circuit

Each downhill run is a new experience. The Engadin Ski Safari runs from Corvatsch to Diavolezza via Corviglia and takes in all the highlights of the Engadin St. Moritz region in a single day. Those unwilling to seek out the ideal racing line for themselves will take to the slopes in the company of a guide.

4 pm - Après-ski in the gondola

After a day on the slopes the decommissioned Diavolezza gondola on the roof of the Quadrella multi-storey car park has to be the first port of call. Indeed, La Gondola is the very latest après-ski venue in St. Moritz. By contrast the legendary Roo-Bar at Hotel Hauser is a favourite watering hole among ski instructors, who will be only too pleased to let you in on the best piste tips.

7 pm - Culinary excellence

For a tasteful treat in stylish surroundings, a table reservation at Talvo by Dalsass in Champfèr is a must. A Michelin star shines brightly about this gourmet restaurant. Its radiance signals the lightness and simplicity of Mediterranean cuisine of the highest standard. Those in search of a less celestial regional cuisine will head for the cosy and congenial atmosphere of the Veltlinerkeller in St. Moritz Bad, a favourite among the locals.

10.30 pm - The nearest whisky bar…

… might not be the one at Hotel Waldhaus. But it’s certainly the largest. No venue anywhere in the world boasts a larger selection of whiskies. With 2,500 different whiskies to choose from, the experience is a mouth-watering one for single-malt enthusiasts; it has certainly earned the Waldhaus Bar an entry in the Guinness Book of Records. Sláinte!

Saturday

9 am - On the right track

220 km of pure winter delights: not only is the network of cross-country tracks in Engadin St. Moritz set among one of the most beautiful landscapes imaginable, its snow is virtually guaranteed. And on the 42 km between Maloja and S-chanf it also features the most famous course in Switzerland, namely the Engadin Ski Marathon. It’s best to pick a relaxing section to acclimatise – in fact, the run from the historic Church of San Gian in Celerina across the wide open plain could not be gentler.

11.30 am - Magical trails

It doesn’t get much more romantic than this. The sound of bells jingling gently to the thud-thud-thud of the horses’ hooves trotting from Pontresina to the Val Roseg is enough to warm anyone’s heart, no matter how low the temperature. Wrapped up snugly inside cosy warm blankets you glide through the fairytale winter wonderland. But it’s not a tale that end after a hour, because the next stop brings up the next highlight: the Restaurant Roseg Gletscher.

12.30 pm - All resistance at the dessert buffet is futile

As you look up from the menu at the Restaurant Roseg Gletscher your gaze drifts out to the snow-covered valley beyond, a haven of calm and tranquillity far from the madding crowd – and the ideal spot to concentrate on what’s really important, namely treating yourself. Local specialities are just the starting point for the grand finale: the dessert buffet, famous far beyond the Engadin itself.

2 pm - Tread softly

A short post-prandial walk has to be a good thing, especially against such a backdrop! So rather than letting yourself be chauffeured back in the horse-drawn carriage, enjoy the walk through the fairytale forest of larch, Swiss pine and spruce as you listen to the gentle babbling waters of the Roseg stream and the crunching of the snow underfoot – and you’ll find yourself making your way back not just to Pontresina, but to your inner self.

3.30 pm - Roofless landmark

It was in 1682 that a bolt of lightning struck the late Gothic tower of the Church of San Gian near Celerina. No-one back then could have imagined that, more than three hundred years later, it would still stand unrepaired. Today San Gian is the region’s landmark. A visit of the church is best combined with a small snack at a Beizli along the cross-country ski track, the ideal spot to watch the skiers – and time itself – glide gently past; and all the while the Engadin heavens feel that little bit closer.

7 pm - Night-time spectacle

Friday nights is when the mountainside comes alive. This is when nightlife sports enthusiasts get together for the Snow Night event on the Corvatsch, an opportunity to ski down Switzerland’s longest floodlit piste to the valley below – until hunger takes over.

8.30 pm - Slope-side culinary treats

Those in the know always look forward to the delicious polenta served from the huge copper cauldron. But the Alpetta mountain chalet at the very heart of the skiing region also has lots of other tasty treats in store for everyone. It’s where locals and guests alike celebrate the culinary side of the Snow Night.

Midnight - One last round

The name says it all: The Hossa Bar under the heated marquee is where night skiers congregate to party in the jumping alpine chalet atmosphere before speeding off for the final valley run. The Hossa-Kafi is the legendary nightcap.

Sunday

10 am - Hot chocolate Grisons-style

The best hot chocolate anywhere in the valley is served in the cafés of the Hauser and Hanselmann patisseries and confectioners, the sweetest way to start off the day. And there’s one other temptation that simply has to be succumbed to. Nothing compares with the Bündner Nusstorte (Graubünden nut torte) made by these two confectioners.

11 am - Time-honoured witnesses

Duly fortified, nothing now stands in the way of our quest to retrace the history of St. Moritz as part of a small tour of the town. In the centre itself, typical Engadin buildings such as the Chesa Veglia (a farmhouse dating from 1658) are a delight. Soaring out of the ocean of rooftops is the Chesa Futura with a façade of 250,000 larch shingles designed by British architect Norman Foster. The hustle and bustle of vibrant village life is to be found along Via Maestra. And showcased up on the hill, high above the village, is the local landmark, the 12th century leaning tower.

11.30 am - Where it all began

It was up here that winter tourism was first invented 150 years ago. In 1856 Johannes Badrutt opened the Kulm Hotel, the first luxury hotel of the Alps, and it was also here at Christmas in 1878 that Switzerland’s first electric light was switched on. Even for non-residents it is well worth enjoying an espresso in the five-star hotel’s historical setting. In fact, it’s something to enjoy in every one of St. Moritz’s luxury hotels; after all, each one has its own signature style and character. While the Kulm is discreetly elegant, the Carlton is splendidly fashionable, the Badrutt’s Palace an utter indulgence, the Suvretta House quintessentially British, the Giardino young and modern, and the Kempinski informally self-assured.

2 pm - Prime locations

St. Moritz is arguably at its most glamorous along Via Serlas. The ‘world’s greatest outdoor luxury shopping mall’ stretches from the railway station to the village centre and boasts the finest and most elegant of fashion stores. It is also the site of the stately Badrutt’s Palace Hotel, which has often been referred to as ‘the drawing room of St. Moritz’ – indeed, the magnificent setting of the grand hotel lobby is a spectacle in itself.

3 pm - Fast track to happiness

Nowhere is the view more intoxicating. To travel up to Muottas Muragl on board the historical funicular railway is to step into paradise. Idyllic winter hiking trails lead through the alpine panorama while a spectacular toboggan run winds its way 4 km back down to the valley.

3.30 pm - Dining delights in prospect

Not only is the Romantik Hotel Muottas Muragl the first plus-energy hotel in the Alps, its innovative cuisine is also a cut above the rest. While regional and Mediterranean cuisine blends with the alpine backdrop into the ultimate treat in the Panoramic Restaurant, the Restaurant Scatla serves good value snacks and other delicious dishes for those who are just a little peckish.

5 pm - The journey is the reward

Plenty of poets and thinkers have found their inspiration on Muottas Muragl. Retracing their steps along the Philosophers’ Trail not only puts you in touch with their lofty thoughts, it also opens up the vista onto what is arguably the most stunning panorama anywhere in Switzerland.

6 pm - Back down to the valley

Graubünden’s second oldest funicular railway has been reliably rattling its way up and down the mountain for more than one hundred years. Its role is to transport its guests up to seventh heaven in a matter of minutes – and take them back down again to the valley below, fulfilled and contented.



eConciergePlan and book your vacation

Compile and book your own customised vacation using the eConcierge.

 
Follow:
Facebook Twitter YouTube Engadin St. Moritz Instagram

eConcierge

Do you have any questions?
We would be pleased to be of assistance.

T +41 81 830 00 01
Engadin.StMoritz

Discover all the inspiring things that the Engadin St. Moritz destination has to offer from the comfort of your own home. With eConcierge, you can compile and book your own, tailor-made holiday arrangement with just a click of the mouse.


Open additional search options

Additional search options


Currently, holiday apartments and additional offers cannot be reserved through eConcierge in a single booking. Please book the required offers separately.


Open additional search options

Additional search options

  1. Bitte wählen Sie eine Aktivität

Please select a package

Loading

Engadin St. Moritz in 60 Stunden

42 km Lopienspass, auf den Spitzensportlern auf der Spur und kulinarische Sternstunden.

Donnerstag

18.00 Uhr - Ankommen und Durchatmen

Gibt es ein schöneres Geräusch als das Knirschen von frischem Schnee unter den Schuhsohlen? Also nichts wie raus! Dick vermummt geht’s durch das abendliche Samedan: Die klare Luft macht den Kopf im Nu frei von Alltagssorgen. Schon nach wenigen Schritten durch die romantische Dorfkulisse fühlt man sich ruhig und gelassen – und bereit für eine besondere Form der Entspannung…

19.00 Uhr - Abschalten und eintauchen

Puren Genuss für Körper und Geist verspricht das Mineralbad & Spa Samedan. Das erste «vertikale» Mineralbad der Schweiz verzaubert auf drei Ebenen mit einer Traumwelt der Sinnlichkeit. In stimmungsvoller Architektur badet man sich durch ein Labyrinth aus Wasser- und Dampfräumen bis hoch zum Jacuzzi unter freiem Sternenhimmel.

Freitag

9.00 Uhr - Einmal rundherum

Jede Abfahrt ein neues Erlebnis: Die Oberengadiner Skisafari führt vom Corvatsch über Corviglia auf Diavolezza und bietet sämtliche Highlights der Region Engadin St. Moritz an einem Tag. Wer nicht selber nach der Ideallinie suchen will, geht mit einem Guide auf die Piste.

16.00 Uhr - Après-Ski in der Gondel

Als erste Anlaufstelle nach einem Tag auf den Skis gilt die ausgediente Diavolezza-Gondel auf dem Dach des Parkhauses Quadrella: «La Gondola» ist die neuste Après-Ski-Location in St. Moritz. In der legendären Roo-Bar des Hotels Hauser wiederum trifft man garantiert auf Skilehrer, die einem gern die besten Pistentipps verraten.

19.00 Uhr - Kulinarische Sternstunden

Wer sich gediegen verwöhnen lassen will, reserviert einen Tisch im «Talvo by Dalsass» in Champfèr. Über dem Gourmetlokal glänzt ein Michelin-Stern: Er steht für die Leichtigkeit und Schlichtheit einer mediterranen Küche auf höchstem Niveau. Wem mehr nach der Bodenständigkeit lokaler Genüsse zumute ist, gesellt sich im gemütlichen «Veltlinerkeller» in St. Moritz Bad zu den Einheimischen.

22.30 Uhr - The next Whisky Bar…

… ist jene im Hotel Waldhaus möglicherweise nicht. Aber die grösste. Es gibt weltweit kein Lokal, das mehr Whiskys im Angebot hält. Die Auswahl an 2500 verschiedenen Sorten lässt Freunden des Malzgetränks das Wasser im Mund zusammenlaufen und bescherte der Waldhaus-Bar einen Eintrag im Guinness Buch der Rekorde. Cheers!

Samstag

9.00 Uhr - Auf der richtigen Spur

Über 220 Kilometer reinstes Wintervergnügen: Das Loipennetz von Engadin St. Moritz ist nicht bloss eines der landschaftlich schönsten und schneesichersten. Es bietet auf den 42 Kilometern zwischen Maloja und S-chanf auch die berühmteste Strecke der Schweiz: jene des Engadin Ski Marathon. Am besten, man pickt sich zum Einstieg ein entspanntes Stück heraus – von der historischen Kirche San Gian in Celerina aus gleitet es sich wie von selbst über die weite Ebene.

11.30 Uhr - Märchenhafte Pfade

Romantischer geht’s nicht: Wenn die Pferde mit hellem Glockengebimmel von Pontresina ins Val Roseg trotten, wird einem auch bei Minustemperaturen warm ums Herz. Eingelullt in warme Decken, wird man durchs Wintermärchen kutschiert, das nach einer Stunde keineswegs endet, sondern beim nächsten Höhepunkt Station macht: beim Restaurant Roseg Gletscher.

12.30 Uhr - Widerstand am Dessertbuffet zwecklos

Von der Speisekarte des Restaurants Roseggletscher wandert der Blick hinaus ins tief verschneite Tal, das hier – abseits vom geschäftigen Treiben – vollständig zur Ruhe kommt und beste Voraussetzungen bietet, sich aufs Wesentliche zu konzentrieren: den Genuss. Lokale Spezialitäten bilden dabei den Auftakt zum grossen Finale – dem Dessertbüffet, das weit über das Engadin hinaus bekannt ist.

14.00 Uhr - Auf leisen Sohlen

Ein kleiner Verdauungsspaziergang kann nicht schaden. Vor allem in dieser Kulisse! Statt sich in der Kutsche zurückchauffieren zu lassen, schlendert man durch den lichten Märchenwald aus Lärchen, Fichten und Arven, lauscht dem sanften Rauschen des Rosegbachs und dem Knirschen des Schnees unter den Sohlen – und findet so nicht nur zurück nach Pontresina, sondern auch zu sich.

15.30 Uhr - Wahrzeichen ohne Dach

1682 war es, als ein Blitz in den spätgotischen Turm der Kirche San Gian bei Celerina einschlug. Kein Mensch hätte damals wohl gedacht, dass dieses mehr als dreihundert Jahre später noch nicht geflickt sein würde. Heute ist San Gian das Wahrzeichen der Region. Ein Besuch der Kirche lässt sich bestens mit einem kleinen Imbiss in einem Loipen-Beizli verbinden, wo man Langläufer und Zeit gemächlich an sich vorbeiziehen lässt und sich dem Engadiner Himmel besonders nahe fühlt.

19.00 Uhr - Nächtliches Spektakel

Freitagnacht kommt Leben auf den Berg: Sportliche Nachtschwärmer treffen sich zur «Snow Night» auf dem Corvatsch und schwingen auf der längsten beleuchteten Piste der Schweiz talwärts, bis sich der Hunger meldet.

20.30 Uhr - Hochgenuss am Pistenrand

Insider freuen sich auf die Polenta aus dem grossen Kupferkessel. In der Berghütte Alpetta mitten im Skigebiet kommen aber auch alle andern auf den Geschmack. Einheimische und Gäste zelebrieren hier gemeinsam die kulinarische Seite der «Snow Night».

24.00 Uhr - Die letzte Runde

Der Name ist Programm: In der Hossa Bar im geheizten Zelt treffen sich die Nachtskifahrer zur Party im ausgelassenen Alphütten-Ambiente, bevor sie definitiv ins Tal schwingen. Legendär: der Hossa-Kafi.

Sonntag

10.00 Uhr - Hot Chocolate auf Bündnerisch

In den Cafés der Konditoreien Hauser und Hanselmann wird die beste heisse Schokolade des Tals serviert, was einen besonders süssen Einstieg in den Tag garantiert. Es empfiehlt sich auch unbedingt, einer weiteren Versuchung zu erliegen: Die Bündner Nusstorten der beiden Zuckerbäcker gelten als unübertroffen.

11.00 Uhr - Historische Zeugen

Frisch gestärkt kommt man der Geschichte von St. Moritz auf einem kleinen Rundgang auf die Spur: Im Dorfkern verzaubern typische Engadiner Bauten wie die Chesa Veglia (ein Bauernhaus aus dem Jahr 1658). Die Chesa Futura des britischen Architekten Norman Foster ragt mit seiner Fassade aus 250'000 Lärchenschindeln aus dem Dächermeer. An der Via Maistra pulsiert das Dorfleben. Und oben, auf dem Hügel, setzt sich das Wahrzeichen in Szene: der schiefe Turm aus dem 12. Jahrhundert.

11.30 Uhr - Wo alles begann

Hier oben wurde vor 150 Jahren der Wintertourismus erfunden. 1856 eröffnete Johannes Badrutt mit dem Kulm Hotel das erste Luxus-Hotel der Alpen, und an Weihnachten 1878 brannte hier das erste elektrische Licht der Schweiz. Es lohnt sich auch für Nicht-Hotelgäste, im historischen Ambiente des Fünfsternehotels einen Espresso zu geniessen. Das ist übrigens in allen Luxushotels von St. Moritz möglich, wobei jedes seinen eigenen Charakter zeigt: Das «Kulm Hotel» präsentiert sich diskret-elegant, das «Carlton» glanzvoll-mondän, das «Badrutt’s Palace» überaus genussfreudig, das «Suvretta House» britisch-distinguiert, das «Giardino Mountain » jung und modern und das Kempinski auf legere Weise selbstbewusst.

14.00 Uhr - Hochkarätige Adressen

Besonders schillernd präsentiert sich St. Moritz an der Via Serlas. Die «grösste Outdoor-Luxus-Shoppingmall der Welt» führt vom Bahnhof zum Dorfkern und vereint die edelsten Mode- und Schmuckgeschäfte. Hier steht auch das geschichtsträchtige Badrutt’s Palace Hotel, das oft als das «Wohnzimmer von St. Moritz» bezeichnet wird – die Szenerie in der grossen Hotelhalle ist ein Schauspiel der Sonderklasse!

15.00 Uhr - Bergbahn ins Glück

Nirgends ist die Aussicht berauschender: Wer mit der historischen Standseilbahn auf den Aussichtsberg Muottas Muragl fährt, landet im Paradies. Idyllische Winterwanderwege führen durchs Alpenpanorama und eine spektakuläre Schlittelbahn auf 4 Kilometern kurvenreich zurück ins Tal.

15.30 Uhr- Aussichtsreiche Tafelfreuden

Das Romantik Hotel Muottas Muragl gilt nicht bloss als erstes Plus-Energiehotel des Alpenraums, es überzeugt auch mit einer innovativen Küche. Während im Panoramarestaurant regionale und mediterrane Küche mit der Alpenkulisse zum Hochgenuss verschmelzen, bietet das Restaurant Scatla preiswerte Snacks und Köstliches für den kleinen Hunger an.

17.00 Uhr - Der Weg ist das Ziel

Auf Muottas Muragl fand schon manch Dichter und Denker Inspiration. Auf ihren Spuren erlebt man auf dem Philosophenweg nicht nur die Grösse ihrer Gedanken, sondern auch jene des vielleicht schönsten Panoramas der Schweiz.

18.00 Uhr - Runter ins Tal

Die zweitälteste Standseilbahn Graubündens rattert seit über hundert Jahren zuverlässig bergauf und bergab. Sie transportiert ihre Gäste in wenigen Minuten in den siebten Himmel – und entlässt sie glücklich und bereichert wieder ins Tal.

Hotelangebote finden

eConcierge

Haben Sie Fragen?
Gerne helfen wir Ihnen weiter

T +41 81 830 00 01
Engadin.StMoritz

Entdecken Sie das inspirierende Angebot der Destination Engadin St. Moritz schon von zu Hause aus. Mit dem eConcierge können Sie Ihre massgeschneiderten Ferien per Mausklick gestalten und direkt buchen.


Detailsuche öffnen

Detailsuche

Ferienwohnungen können derzeit noch nicht in einer gemeinsamen Buchung mit anderen Angeboten über den eConcierge reserviert werden. Bitte buchen Sie Ihre gewünschten Zusatzleistungen separat.


Orts- und Detailsuche öffnen

Detailsuche

Bitte wählen Sie eine Aktivität

Bitte wählen Sie eine Pauschale aus

Loading