Engadin St. Moritz in 8 Days

Saturday: Welcome to our winter wonderland

 

6 pm - A beautiful authentic mountainscape

Strolling through Zuoz, it’s not long before you find yourself at the very heart of a winter wonderland. With its authentic buildings the village is regarded as the most beautiful in the Engadin. Impressive patrician houses such as the Chesa Planta proudly showcase their typical bay windows and sgraffito embellishments while secretive alleyways invite the visitor to explore the locality’s lively past. It’s all particularly romantic in winter when the snow crunches underfoot and warm light glows from the windows onto the snow-covered streets.
Zuoz

8 pm - Typical food – but with a difference

Engadin ‘hay soup’, Capuns, Maluns and Krautpizokel: Restaurant Dorta in Zuoz, recognised as the valley’s most original dining venue, serves all of the traditional dishes the Engadin has to offer. And it is not unusual for typical Engadin cuisine to be given a virtuoso twist. The perfect introduction to a winter’s week full of surprises!
Bar Restaurant Dorta

Sunday: Off to the slopes!

7.45 am - The mountain (almost) to yourself

There’s nothing early birds love more than a ‘White Carpet’, i.e. the first run of the day on freshly prepared slopes. By 7.45 am the Marguns cable car and Chantarella funicular are already up and running. And by 8 am all the other mountain railways and cableways have followed suit. That means you can be up on top of Piz Nair (3057 m) in time for sunrise – with the world-famous panorama before you, along with over 100 km of dream pistes.
White carpet

10 am - Mixing with the young guns

It’s regarded as one of the best in Europe, and nothing if not challenging. The Corviglia Snow Park and its thirty obstacles is a playground for the young guns – and quite a show for its spectators. It’s located on the way to the Marguns Sternenbar, a popular haunt among locals too. This is the place to chill out in a canopied wicker chair, sip a coffee, and soak up the Engadin sunshine.
Corviglia Snowpark

12 noon - Mountain magic for connoisseurs

32 mountain restaurants await in the Engadin St. Moritz holiday region. At lunchtime the small cosy traditional Glünetta serves ‘Swiss ethno food’ while the Cüpli Bar on the sun terrace is a wonderful place to chill out. As of Winter 17/18 the newly opened White Marmot Restaurant & Bar delights visitors with its regional treats.
Gastronomy region

2 pm - World-class pistes for the serious skier

There are of course lots of skiers who would prefer to enjoy an afternoon’s gentle skiing down the Paradiso ‘Chill-out-Riding’ piste. But for proficient skiers and snowboarders the real challenge awaits on the Women’s Downhill World Cup piste and of course the legendary Olympic run, where it’s all systems go for the hotshots on the black category slope.
Paradiso slope

3.30 pm - Coffee with prospects

It’s like sitting in a stadium grandstand, but with far better views, namely a five-star panoramic vista. The sun terrace at the Trutz Hut is the connoisseur’s arena, the perfect spot to soothe those aching calf muscles with a Kafi Trutz and indulge in the fine art of dolce far niente.
Restaurant Trutz

6.30 pm - Simply delicious

Cosy, casual and trendy: The Pitschna Scena in Pontresina feels just like home with its cosy Swiss pine panelled Stube, the perfect spot to enjoy simple delicious dishes from the gourmet kitchens of the 4-star Superior Hotel Saratz. All the day’s specials are up on the blackboard, complemented by a selection of regional specialities from the small menu.
Hotel Bar Saratz

8 pm - Would you like ice with that?

The night is crystal clear, the air crisp and fresh – and the stomach replete. So why not take to the ice for a small lap of the Roseg natural ice rink in Pontresina? There’s fun to be had on the ice in St. Moritz too. The new Glatschin ice rink on Plazza Rosatsch with market stands in St. Moritz Bad, will be a popular centre for winter fun from December to February.
Ice rinks

Monday: Full-on winter magic

10 am - Carriage ride to happiness

The Engadin is a paradise for romantics. And what could be more enchanting than a horse-drawn carriage ride through the winter wonderland. For example into the delightful valley of Val Bever, where the idyllic Gasthaus Spinas awaits with delicious regional dishes.
Bever

12 noon - A culinary oasis

When the Albula Railway was being built a hundred years ago, the idyllic hamlet of Spinas suddenly found itself bursting at the seams. Up to 400 people, mostly migrant workers from Italy and their families, are said to have taken up residence here. What remains is the now freshly renovated Gasthaus Spinas, serving Grisons specialities along with genuine heart-felt hospitality.
Gasthaus Spinas

4 pm - Water fun at every level

After a day in the snow there is no better contrast than the sensuous surroundings of a leisure pool and spa. The Mineral Pool & Spa Samedan is Switzerland’s first ever ‘vertical’ mineral pool. Guests bathe their way through a maze of pools and steam rooms laid out on three levels in an atmospheric architectural setting. And end up under the starry night skies of the Engadin.
Samedan mineral bath and spa

7 pm - Capping it all

Restaurant Krone in La Punt has not only conquered the hearts of its patrons with its Engadine, Grisons and Valtellina specialities, it has also picked up 15 GaultMillau points. Outside, the Inn river flows gently through the winter landscape while, inside, wholesome market-fresh cuisine is served in four ultra-snug pine-panelled Stuben.
Hotel Gasthaus Krone

Tuesday: Into the eternal ice

10 am - Devilishly beautiful

The locals refer to it as the ‘ballroom of the Alps’. By which they mean the dramatic panorama, the devilishly beautiful downhill runs, and the ultimate skiing heaven of the Diavolezza. The sheer diversity of pistes guarantees a maximum of variety – right through to May!
Diavolezza skiing

12.30 pm - Staring into the eternal ice

Valtellina and Grisons specialties on the plate before you and, stretching out in front of you, one of the most spectacular high-altitude panoramas. Lunch at the Berghaus Diavolezza is not just a culinary treat. The vista from the panoramic terrace across to the Bernina Massif where ice masses tower up above glacier tongues is simply breathtaking.
Diavolezza skiing

2 pm - Across the glacier to the valley

There’s a special treat that’s also a 45-minute fitness test. The secured (but not prepared) downhill glacier run is Switzerland’s longest at 10 km and leads from the Berghaus Diavolezza to Morteratsch. Where the glacier ends, crevasses shimmer through, ice blue, along with their mysterious caves. Nowhere else can you get so close, so easily. From here on in it’s a gentle run along the winter hiking trail back to the Morteratsch station.
Diavolezza glacier run

6 pm - Calling in on Nietzsche

Sils-Maria was where the philosopher felt entirely at home – and found his inspiration. It was here that he wrote his masterpiece Thus Spoke Zarathustra, among others. Nietzsche felt a particularly close kinship with the landscape of the Upper Engadin and spent many summers here. So any stroll through the village inevitably leads into his realm, culminating in front of the Nietzsche House. And enthroned above it all is the legendary 5-star Hotel Waldhaus, a regular venue for cultural events.
Sils

8 pm - Dinner is served!

Fresh pasta, wood-fired pizza and regional specialties distinguish the Pizzeria at the Hotel Cervo in Sils. The no-fuss, but big on taste dishes will hit just the spot.
Pizzeria Restaurant Cervo

Wednesday: Making tracks

10 am - Tracks in the snow

The Engadin St. Moritz network of cross-country tracks comprises 220 stunning kilometres, and that includes 42 of the most famous ones in Switzerland, namely the Marathon circuit between Maloja and S-chanf. Those looking for a more relaxing run will opt for the section across the three lakes or enjoy one of the Engadin’s longest gliding zones near Zuoz. Not to mention stepping out at one of the Beizli along the circuit for some time-out to soak up the sunshine and enjoy a hot steaming bowlful of Grisons barley soup.
Cross-country skiing

2 pm - Where it all began

An enjoyable way of retracing the history of St. Moritz is to take a small tour of the town. In the centre itself, typical Engadin buildings such as the Chesa Veglia (a farmhouse dating from 1658) are a delight. Buildings such as the Chesa Futura or the Kulm Country Club, designed by British architect Norman Foster, shape the look of St. Moritz. The hustle and bustle of vibrant village life is to be found along Via Maestra. And showcased up on the hill, high above the village, is the local landmark, the 12th century leaning tower.
Village tour of St. Moritz

3 pm - Tea time!

Adjacent to the leaning tower stand a particular legend. The Kulm Hotel was opened by Johannes Badrutt in 1856 as the first luxury hotel of the Alps, and it was on these premises that Switzerland’s first electric light was switched on at Christmas in 1878. Even for non-residents it is well worth enjoying afternoon tea in the five-star hotel’s historical setting. As in all the luxury hotels in St. Moritz, tea time is also available at the splendidly fashionable Carlton, which has no fewer than two 3-star chefs in its kitchens. So staying on for dinner is certain to be yet another treat!
Hotels St. Moritz

5 pm - A world of (healing) waters

Winter tourism was invented in St. Moritz more than 150 years ago. But its history began more than 3,000 years ago when the first mineral springs were tapped here and half the known world made a pilgrimage to the alpine village. It’s a tradition upheld to this very day, with a spring at the spa in St. Moritz Bad still affording healing waters for all; in fact, the original spring catchment basin is still there to be admired at Hotel Kempinski. On the way there, it is also well worth stopping off to visit the museum dedicated to the famous artist Giovanni Segantini.
Water

8 pm - Spirited shanty shack

Once upon a time the Baracca stood in a remote mountain valley, providing shelter for tunnel workers. That is, until jack-of-all-trades Max Schneider relocated it to the Signal cableway car park, where it gained a cult following as a bohemian watering hole for elite artists. Patrons are invited to dine at long tables, chat about everything under the sun, and celebrate the beautiful things of life (not infrequently into the wee hours of the morning).
La Baracca

Thursday: Up to the panoramic mountain

10 am - Spectacle ‘on the rocks’

The ideal way to clear your head: a stroll from Celerina along the world’s one and only natural bob run to the big bend known as the Horseshoe. This is where the pros thunder past at spectacular speeds. Which is something amateurs can try their hand at too, as a passenger on a ‘taxi ride’ in a four-man bob. Besides the Olympia Bob Run the legendary Cresta Run is also built out of natural ice, every winter. Its members race down the ice run (face down!), some of them in historical costumes.
Bob rides for visitors

12 noon - Dining delights in prospect

In a matter of minutes Graubünden’s second oldest funicular railway takes its passengers up to the summit of enjoyment: the panoramic mountain of Muottas Muragl, where the Romantik Hotel Muottas Muragl as the first plus-energy hotel in the Alps awaits with its innovative cuisine. While regional and Mediterranean cuisine blends with the alpine backdrop into the ultimate treat in the Panoramic Restaurant, the Restaurant Scatla serves good value snacks and other delicious dishes for those who are just a little peckish.
Muottas Muragl: mountain adventure

2 pm - In seventh heaven

Plenty of poets and thinkers have found their inspiration on Muottas Muragl. Retracing their steps along the Philosophers’ Trail not only puts you in touch with their lofty thoughts, it also opens up the vista onto what is arguably the most stunning panorama anywhere in Switzerland. Then it’s high time to turn your back on the mountain – and race down the region’s fastest toboggan run. The sleds for the thrilling 4 km course are available for hire from the valley station.
Muottas Muragl: mountain adventure

6.30 pm - Culinary revue

The Giardino-Mountain Hotel, the latest 5-star addition to the Engadin, is the winter home of star chef Rolf Fliegauf, impresario to the world of brand new taste experiences. His innovative cuisine at the Restaurant Ecco & Snow recently earned the Hotel no fewer than two Michelin stars. Another alternative is offered by Restaurant Cà d'Oro at Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains in St. Moritz, where head chef Matthias Schmidberger and his creative team offer a range of culinary delights.
Hotel Giardino Mountain
Cà d'Oro

Friday: Romantic round-up of a winter wonderland

10 am - For top-notchers only

This mountain tops it all. Even skiers and snowboarders who have seen it all end up raving about the thrilling downhill runs on the Corvatsch. From the highest mountain station anywhere in the eastern Alps at 3303 m you step out into a superb panorama. It is also the starting point for the challenging 9 km downhill run down to St. Moritz via the Hahnensee. The Corvatsch is the most demanding of all the skiing mountains – with plenty of snow well into the spring!
Corvatsch skiing

12 noon - Hospitable hut

Few alpine huts are as genuine and as original as the Alpetta. The menu features whatever the region has to offer. The polenta from the huge copper cauldron is a particular favourite. With its cheese, game and grill specialities it also caters deliciously to lots of other culinary cravings.
Alpetta

5 pm - Romantic evening stroll

The short and pleasant winter hike through the snow-covered Swiss pine forest to the Lej da Staz takes around one hour. Here, in a totally secluded spot, the Restorant Lej da Staz serves up moments of sheer happiness. Its kitchen specialises in genuine rustic mountain cuisine with the finest ingredients the region has to offer.
Hotel Restorant Lej da Staz

Saturday: Time for souvenirs

10 am - Final treats

A final stroll through St. Moritz is tantamount to a culinary tour of excellence. It takes in the chic designer premises of the Hatecke butcher’s shop with its exceptional selection of salsiz sausages; the confectioners and patisseries of Hauser and Hanselmann with their legendary Graubünden nut pastries; Heuberger & Heuberger with their sausage specialities; and not least Glattfelder, with its exclusive coffee, caviar and tea blends, including Swiss pine tea. An opportunity to take home some of the many wonderful things the Engadin has to offer.
St. Moritz

Find accommodation

Engadin St. Moritz in 8 Tagen

Ursprüngliche Bergwelt, Kutschenfahrt ins Glück und kulturelle Highlights.

Samstag

18.00 Uhr - Schöne ursprüngliche Bergwelt

Wer durch Zuoz schlendert, kommt schon nach wenigen Schritten mitten im Wintermärchen an. Das Ortsbild gilt dank seinen authentischen Bauten als das schönste im Oberengadin. Stolze Patrizierhäuser wie die Chesa Planta präsentieren selbstbewusst ihre typischen Erker und Sgraffito-Verzierungen, und geheimnisvolle Gässchen laden zu Entdeckungstouren in die bewegte Vergangenheit. Besonders romantisch ist das im Winter, wenn der Schnee unter den Füssen knirscht und aus den Fenstern warmes Licht auf die verschneiten Gassen fällt.

20.00 Uhr - Typisch essen – einmal anders

Engadiner Heusuppe, Capuns, Maluns und Krautpizokel: Im «originellsten Lokal des Tals», dem Restaurant Dorta in Zuoz, kommt auf den Tisch, was im Engadin Tradition hat. Nicht selten wird die typische Engadiner Küche auch auf virtuose Art interpretiert. Die perfekte Einstimmung auf eine Winterwoche voller Überraschungen!

Sonntag

7.45 Uhr - (Fast) Allein auf dem Berg

Frühaufsteher schwören auf «White Carpet» – die erste Fahrt auf frisch präparierten Pisten: Schon um 7.45 Uhr setzen sich die Gondelbahn Marguns und die Standseilbahn Chantarella in Bewegung. Bis um 8 Uhr sind auch die anderen Bahnen in Betrieb. Und pünktlich zum Sonnenaufgang steht man oben auf dem Piz Nair (3057 m) – vor sich das weltberühmte Panorama und 100 Kilometer Pistentraum.

10.00 Uhr - Bei den jungen Wilden

Er zählt zu den Besten Europas und stellt entsprechend Ansprüche: Der Corviglia Snow Park mit seinen zahlreichen «Obstacles» ist Tummelplatz der junge Wilden und ein Spektakel für die Zuschauer – Let’s fly! Er liegt am Weg zur Sternenbar Marguns, wo sich auch die Einheimischen gern treffen. Hier fläzt man sich in Strandkörben und blinzelt bei einem Kaffee entspannt in die Engadiner Sonne.

12.00 Uhr - Hüttenzauber für Geniesser

15 Berghütten verführen im Skigebiet Corviglia/Marguns. In kleinen, urchigen Hütten werden zum Lunch eiheimische und Schweizer Spezialitäten aufgetischt, während es sich an der Cüpli-Bar auf der Sonnenterrasse wunderbar chillen lässt. Den wahren Gipfel der Genüsse erreicht man allerdings auf Corviglia bei «Mathis Food Affairs». Hier zelebriert der Meister im Loungerestaurant De Fät Moonk seine ganz persönliche «Contemporary Alpine Cuisine».

14.00 Uhr - Weltklassepisten für Ambitionierte

Natürlich könnte man den Nachmittag easy auf der ChillOut-Riding-Piste Paradiso angehen. Aber die echte Herausforderung für geübte Skifahrer und Boarder wartet auf der Weltcup-Piste der Damenabfahrt und natürlich auf der legendären Olympiastrecke, wo die Cracks auf der schwarzen Piste grünes Licht haben.

15.30 Uhr - Kaffee mit Aussicht

Man sitzt auf einer Tribüne wie im Stadion, hat aber deutlich bessere Aussichten – nämlich mitten ins 5-Sterne-Panorama. Die Sonnenterrasse der Trutz-Hütte ist eine Arena für Geniesser, die beim «Kafi Trutz» ihre müden Waden lockern und dem Dolcefarniente frönen.

18.30 Uhr - Einfach köstlich

Gemütlich, unkompliziert und angesagt: In der «Pitschna Scena» in Pontresina fühlt man sich wie zuhause in der guten (Arven-)Stube und geniesst einfache Köstlichkeiten aus der Gourmetküche des 4-Stern-Superior-Hotels Saratz. Die Tagesempfehlungen stehen am schwarzen Brett, eine Auswahl an Spezialitäten in der kleinen Karte. Und am Donnerstag gibt’s zum Dessert Live-Konzerte.

20.00 Uhr - Aufs Glatteis geführt

Die Nacht ist klar, die Luft frisch – und der Magen voll. Warum also nicht eine kleine Runde drehen auf dem Natureisplatz Roseg in Pontresina, der jeden Montag und Donnerstag zum Abendeislauf lädt (19.30 bis 21.30 Uhr)? Und dies zum Nulltarif: Selbst die Schlittschuhvermietung ist kostenlos. Curling wird zudem auch angeboten, jeden Montagabend Curlingplausch, jeden Dienstagabend Eisstockschiessen.

Montag

10.00 Uhr - Kutschenfahrt ins Glück

Das Engadin ist ein Paradies für Romantiker. Und nichts verzaubert mehr als eine Kutschenfahrt durch die Winterlandschaft. Zum Beispiel ins märchenhafte Val Bever, wo am Ziel das idyllische Gasthaus Spinas mit regionalen Köstlichkeiten wartet.

12.00 Uhr - Kulinarische Oase

Als vor hundert Jahren die Albulabahn gebaut wurde, platzte der idyllische Weiler Spinas plötzlich aus allen Nähten. Bis zu 400 Menschen, vor allem italienische Gastarbeiter und ihre Familien, sollen hier gelebt haben. Geblieben ist das heute frisch herausgeputzte Gasthaus Spinas, das mit Bündner Spezialitäten verführt und mit herzlicher Gastfreundschaft verzaubert.

14.00 Uhr - Auf dem Märchenweg

Mal geht es über das offene Feld, mal durch mystische Wälder, meist entlang des Beverinbachs, der sich durchs malerische Tal schlängelt, und ab und zu stampft die «Kleine Rote» der Rhätischen Bahn auf ihrem Weg nach Tiefencastel vorbei. Auf dem idyllischen Winterspaziergang von Spinas zurück nach Bever fühlt man sich so richtig – im Engadin.

16.00 Uhr - Wasserspass auf allen Ebenen

Es gibt nach einem Tag im Schnee keinen angenehmeren Kontrast als die sinnliche Welt eines Erlebnisbads. Das Mineralbad & Spa Samedan ist das erste «vertikale» Mineralbad der Schweiz. Über drei Stockwerke durchwandert der Gast in stimmungsvoller Architektur ein Labyrinth aus Bade- und Dampfräumen. Und landet am Ende unter dem Engadiner Sternenhimmel.

19.00 Uhr - Dem Tag die Krone aufsetzen

Mit ihren Engadiner, Bündner und Veltliner Spezialitäten hat das Restaurant Krone in La Punt nicht nur die Herzen seiner Gäste erobert, sondern auch 15 GaultMillau-Punkte abgeräumt. In drei urgemütlichen Arvenstuben wird ehrliche Marktküche serviert, während draussen der Inn träge durch die Winterlandschaft fliesst.

Dienstag

10.00 Uhr - Teuflisch schön

Die Einheimischen sprechen vom «Festsaal der Alpen». Und meinen damit das theatralische Panorama, die teuflisch schönen Abfahrten und mindestens hundert Prozent Fahrvergnügen auf Diavolezza. Die Vielfalt an Pisten sorgt für ein Höchstmass an Abwechslung – und das bis Ende Mai!

12.30 Uhr - Blick ins ewige Eis

Auf dem Teller Veltliner und Bündner Spezialitäten und vor den Augen eines der spektakulärsten Hochgebirgspanoramen: Ein Mittagessen im Berghaus Diavolezza ist nicht nur ein kulinarisches Vergnügen. Der Blick von der Panoramaterrasse aufs Berninamassiv, wo sich die Eiskolosse über den Gletscherzungen türmen, ist atemberaubend.

14.00 Uhr - Über den Gletscher ins Tal

Ein besonderer Leckerbissen ist gleichzeitig ein 45-minütiger Konditionstest: Die mit zehn Kilometern längste gesicherte, aber nicht präparierte Gletscherabfahrt der Schweiz führt vom Berghaus Diavolezza nach Morteratsch. Wo der Gletscher endet, schimmern eisblau die Abbrüche mit ihren mystischen Grotten: Nirgends sonst kommt man ihnen so einfach so nahe. Von hier aus ist es nur noch eine gemütliche Fahrt auf dem Winterwanderweg bis zur Bahnstation Morteratsch.

18.00 Uhr - Zu Besuch bei Nietzsche

In Sils-Maria war er ganz zuhause. Hier wurde er inspiriert. Und hier schrieb er unter anderem sein Meisterwerk «Also sprach Zarathustra». Friedrich Nietzsche fühlte sich mit der Oberengadiner Landschaft «blutsverwandt» und verbrachte viele Sommer hier. Ein Spaziergang durchs Dorf führt deshalb unweigerlich auch in sein Reich und gipfelt vor dem Nietzsche Haus. Und über allem thront das legendäre 5-Sterne-Hotel Waldhaus, in dem regelmässig kulturelle Veranstaltungen stattfinden.

20.00 Uhr - Zu Tisch!

Bei ihnen fühlt man sich wie zuhause: Die beiden Schwestern Maria und Christina Godly sind die guten Geister der «Chesa Marchetta». Unkompliziert, aber herzlich überzeugen sie mit ihrer bodenständigen Küche, bei der die liebevolle Zubereitung mehr zählt als eine grosse Karte.

Mittwoch

10.00 Uhr - Spuren im Schnee

Über 220 eindrückliche Kilometer umfasst das Loipennetz von Engadin St. Moritz. Dazu gehören die 42 berühmtesten der Schweiz: die Marathonstrecke zwischen Maloja und S-chanf. Wer es gerne gemütlich nimmt, wählt das Teilstück über die drei Seen oder genießt bei Zuoz eine der längsten Gleitzonen des Engadins. Und setzt sich zwischendurch in eines der Loipen-Beizli an die Sonne, vor sich ein dampfender Teller mit Bündner Gerstensuppe.

14.00 Uhr - Wo alles begann

Der Geschichte von St. Moritz kommt man bei einem kleinen Rundgang auf die Spur: Im Dorfkern verzaubern typische Engadiner Bauten wie die Chesa Veglia (ein Bauernhaus aus dem Jahr 1658). Die Chesa Futura des britischen Architekten Norman Foster ragt mit seiner Fassade aus 250'000 Lärchenschindeln aus dem Dächermeer. An der Via Maistra pulsiert das Dorfleben. Und oben, auf dem Hügel, setzt sich das Wahrzeichen in Szene: der schiefe Turm aus dem 12. Jahrhundert.

15.00 Uhr - Tea Time!

Neben dem schiefen Turm thront eine besondere Legende: Das Kulm Hotel wurde als erstes Luxus-Hotel der Alpen 1856 von Johannes Badrutt eröffnet, und hier brannte an Weihnachten 1878 das erste elektrische Licht der Schweiz. Es lohnt sich auch für Nicht-Hotelgäste, im historischen Ambiente des Fünfsternehotels einen «Five O’Clock Tea» zu geniessen. Das ist, wie in allen Luxushotels von St. Moritz, auch im glanzvoll-mondänen «Carlton» möglich: In seiner Küche sind gleich zwei 3-Sterne-Köche am Werk. Wer also zum Abendessen bleibt, darf sich freuen!

17.00 Uhr - Welt des (Heil-)Wassers

Vor 150 Jahren wurde in St. Moritz der Wintertourismus erfunden. Aber seine Geschichte beginnt vor über 3000 Jahren, als hier die ersten Heilquellen entdeckt wurden und die halbe Welt ins Alpendorf pilgerte. Das kann man auch heute noch tun: Im Heilbad St. Moritz in St. Moritz Bad spendet ein Brunnen Heilwasser für alle, und im Hotel Kempinski ist die Original-Quellfassung zu bestaunen. Auf dem Weg dorthin lohnt sich ein Abstecher ins Museum des berühmten Bündner Malers Giovanni Segantini.

20.00 Uhr - Lebensfrohe Baracke

Einst stand die «Baracca» in einem fernen Bergtal und bot Tunnelarbeitern Unterschlupf. Bis Tausendsassa Max Schneider sie auf den Parkplatz der Signalbahn holte, wo sie als bohemische Edelkünstlerkneipe Kult wurde. Man tafelt an langen Tischen, parliert querbeet und zelebriert (nicht selten bis spät in die Nacht) die schönen Seiten des Lebens.

Donnerstag

10.00 Uhr - Spektakel «on the rocks»

Der ideale Weg, um den Kopf auszulüften: ein Spaziergang von Celerina der weltweit einzigen Natur-Bobbahn entlang bis zur grossen Kurve, dem «Horseshoe». Hier donnern die Profis besonders spektakulär vorbei. Das kann man auch als Laie tun: als Passagier auf einer «Taxifahrt» im Viererbob. Neben dem Olympia Bob Run wird jeden Winter auch der legendäre Cresta Run aus Natureis gebaut. Dessen Mitglieder jagen den Eiskanal mitunter in historischen Kostümen (bäuchlings!) hinunter.

12.00 Uh - Aussichtsreiche Tafelfreuden

In wenigen Minuten bringt die zweitälteste Standseilbahn Graubündens ihre Passagiere auf den Gipfel des Genusses: auf den Aussichtsberg Muottas Muragl, wo das Romantik Hotel Muottas Muragl als erstes Plus-Energiehotel der Alpen mit seiner innovativen Küche aufwartet. Während im Panoramarestaurant regionale und mediterrane Küche mit der Alpenkulisse zum Hochgenuss verschmelzen, bietet das Restaurant Scatla preiswerte Snacks und Köstliches für den kleinen Hunger an.

14.00 Uhr - Im siebten Himmel

Auf Muottas Muragl fand schon manch Dichter und Denker Inspiration. Auf ihren Spuren erlebt man auf dem Philosophenweg nicht nur die Grösse ihrer Gedanken, sondern auch jene des vielleicht schönsten Panoramas der Schweiz. Danach wird es höchste Zeit, dem Berg den Buckel runter zu rutschen – auf der schnellsten Schlittelbahn der Region. Die Gefährte für den 4 Kilometer langen, rasanten Spass kann man an der Talstation mieten.

18.30 Uhr - Kulinarisches Varieté

Hier eröffnen sich ganz neue Geschmackswelten: Das Giardino-Mountain Hotel, das jüngste 5-Sterne-Haus des Engadins, ist das Winterquartier von Starkoch Rolf Fliegauf. Seine innovative Küche im Restaurant Ecco & Snow bescherte dem Haus jüngst gleich zwei Michelin-Sterne. Eine ebenbürtige Alternative bietet Bumans «Chesa Pirani» in La Punt, über der schon länger zwei Michelin-Sterne glänzen.

Freitag

10.00 Uhr - Darauf fahren Könner ab

Dieser Berg ist der Gipfel: Selbst verwöhnte Skifahrer und Snowboarder geraten auf den aufregenden Abfahrten des Corvatsch ins Schwärmen. Von der höchstgelegenen Bergstation der Ostalpen auf 3303 Metern tritt man mitten ins grandiose Panorama. Hier wartet unter anderem die neun Kilometer lange, anspruchsvolle Königsabfahrt über den Hahnensee nach St. Moritz. Der Corvatsch ist der sportlichste und der Skibergen – und das bis weit in den Frühling hinein!

12.00 Uhr - Gastfreundliche Alphütte

So urchig und echt wie die «Alpetta» präsentieren sich nur wenige Alphütten. Gekocht wird, was die Region hergibt. Besonders beliebt ist die Polenta aus dem grossen Kupferkessel. Dank ihren Käse-, Wild- und Grill-Spezialitäten kommen aber auch ganz andere Gelüste auf ihre Kosten.

17.00 Uhr - Romantischer Abendspaziergang

Rund eine Stunde dauert die gemütliche, kurze Winterwanderung durch den tief verschneiten Arvenwald bis zum Lej da Staz. Hier sorgt das Restorant Lej da Staz in völliger Abgeschiedenheit für Glücksgefühle. Seine «Cuschina engiadinaisa» verführt mit authentischer Berggastronomie und den besten Zutaten aus der Umgebung.

Samstag

10.00 Uhr - Köstlichkeiten zum Schluss

Ein letzter Spaziergang durch St. Moritz gleicht einer kleinen kulinarischen Tour d’Horizon: Er führt vorbei am schicken Shop der Delikatesse-Metzgerei Hatecke mit ihrem aussergewöhnlichen Salsiz-Angebot, an den Konditoreien Hauser und Hanselmann mit ihren legendären Bündner Nusstorten, an «Heuberger und Heuberger» mit ihren Wurstspezialitäten und nicht zuletzt an «Glattfelder» mit seinen Kaffee-, Kaviar- und Tee-Exklusivitäten wie dem Arventee. Damit man die schönen Seiten des Engadins möglichst auch mit nach Hause nehmen kann.



eConciergeFERIEN PLANEN / BUCHEN

Mit dem eConcierge massgeschneiderte Ferien gestalten und buchen.

 
Engadin St. Moritz auf einen Blick
Besuchen:
Facebook Twitter YouTube Engadin St. Moritz Instagram

eConcierge

Haben Sie Fragen?
Gerne helfen wir Ihnen weiter

T +41 81 830 00 01
Engadin.StMoritz

Entdecken Sie das inspirierende Angebot der Destination Engadin St. Moritz schon von zu Hause aus. Mit dem eConcierge können Sie Ihre massgeschneiderten Ferien per Mausklick gestalten und direkt buchen.


Detailsuche öffnen

Detailsuche


Ferienwohnungen können derzeit noch nicht in einer gemeinsamen Buchung mit anderen Angeboten über den eConcierge reserviert werden. Bitte buchen Sie Ihre gewünschten Zusatzleistungen separat.


Orts- und Detailsuche öffnen

Detailsuche

  1. Bitte wählen Sie eine Aktivität

Bitte wählen Sie eine Pauschale aus

Loading