Sils

The mystic resort

Sils

The mystic resort

Sils

The mystic resort


Sils, the most rewarding contrast to everyday life. Everything you experience in the Engadin village of Sils is just that little bit more vivid and intense. The peace and quiet, the light, the force of Nature herself – and the happiness. At more than 1,802 m above sea level, Sils soothes the soul – even in winter.
They have all been inspired by the fabulously vast landscape and the enchanting light that Sils has to offer: writers such as Nietzsche, Dürrenmatt and Kästner; artists such as Beuys and Chagall; and musicians such as Strauss, Honegger and David Bowie. And thanks not least to their significant contributions, Sils now enjoys a worldwide reputation as a cultural centre of the Engadin.
With only 750 inhabitants Sils is peaceful, informal, and inviting. Guests appreciate not just the sense of relaxed calm and tranquillity in this magnificent setting, a rewarding contrast to everyday life, but also the unfussy approach of Sils’ hotels, B&Bs and holiday apartments. They automatically become part of a tradition that’s not just celebrated, but actually lived out, a major factor contributing to the genuine holiday feeling.
Looking out across the seemingly endless expanses of the Sils plain and Lake Sils it is easy to understand the words of Hermann Hesse, who once described the region as a ‘paradise on earth’. Nestling in idyllic surroundings between Lake Sils and Lake Silvaplana, the village lies at the mouth of the valley of Val Fex, a favourite winter paradise. The delightful ride by horse-drawn carriage through the white, snow-covered winter wonderland with views of mountain peaks soaring up above 3,000 m makes for an enchantingly romantic experience. Nature lovers and winter hiking enthusiasts are certain to delight in the wide open spaces and the calm and tranquillity of these idyllic landscapes. Indeed, there is no better way to switch off from the worries and concerns of everyday life than cross-country skiing across the frozen waters of Lake Sils or hiking through the Sils landscape, entirely at one with nature. Those aiming even higher will find exciting ski slopes and snowshoe trails up on the local mountain, Furtschellas, not to mention the stunning views. And on the Corvastch, dream pistes of a very special kind are very much a reality.
Sils’ cultural offering is as superlative as the experience of nature itself. Every week there are concerts featuring famous artists, readings, lectures, guided tours and exhibitions to delight guests and visitors. The cultural highlight – and now something of a tradition – is the concert by the Sinfonia Engiadina, which gives a guest performance in Sils in late December every year. First-rate musical entertainment by any standards.

 

Hotels and holiday homes in Sils

List of hotels 
List of holiday homes

Find accommodation

Sils

Eine Bereicherung für Körper, Geist und Seele

Sils

Eine Bereicherung für Körper, Geist und Seele

Sils

Eine Bereicherung für Körper, Geist und Seele


Sils – der bereicherndste Kontrast zum Alltag. Wer nach Sils im Engadin kommt, erlebt alles intensiver: Die Ruhe, das Licht, die Kraft der Natur – das Glück. In Sils, auf über 1802 m ü. M. atmet die Seele auf – auch im Winter.
Sie alle liessen sich von der fantastischen Weite und dem zauberhaften Licht in Sils inspirieren: Schriftsteller wie Nietzsche, Dürrenmatt und Kästner, Künstler wie Beuys oder Chagall und Musiker wie Strauss, Honegger und David Bowie. Damit trugen sie wesentlich dazu bei, dass Sils heute als Engadiner Kulturort Weltruf geniesst.
Mit nur 750 Einwohnern präsentiert sich Sils beschaulich, familiär und einladend. Die Gäste schätzen die entspannte Ruhe in grandioser Landschaft, die einen bereichernden Kontrast zum Alltag bietet, ebenso wie den unaufgeregten Stil der Silser Hotels, Pensionen und Ferienwohnungen. Und sie werden ganz automatisch Teil einer Tradition, die hier nicht nur zelebriert, sondern tatsächlich gelebt wird und viel zum authentischen Urlaubsgefühl beiträgt.
Wer über die grenzenlos scheinende Weite der Silserebene und des Silsersee schaut, wird Hermann Hesse verstehen, der die Gegend einst als das «vorgeträumte Paradies» beschrieb. Idyllisch eingebettet zwischen Silser- und Silvaplanersee, liegt das Dorf am Eingang zum Val Fex, dem Winterparadies für jedermann. Die ausgelassene Kutschenfahrt durch die weisse, schneesichere Wunderwelt und den Ausblick auf über 3000 Meter hohen Berge, lassen dies zu einem märchenhaft, romantischen Erlebnis werden. Geniesser und Winterwanderliebhaber finden ihr Glück in der Weite und der Ruhe der idyllischen Landschaften. Im Einklang mit sich und der Natur, lässt es sich beim Langlaufen über den gefrorenen Silsersee oder beim Wandern durch die einmalige Silser Landschaft gut vom Alltag abschalten. Wer noch höher hinaus will, findet auf dem Hausberg Furtschellas abwechslungs- und aussichtsreiche Skipisten wie auch Schneeschuhrouten. Pistenträume der ganz besonderen Art, werden auf dem Corvatsch wahr.
Auf ebenso hohem Niveau wie das Naturerlebnis bewegt sich in Sils aber auch das kulturelle Angebot: Wöchentlich begeistern Konzerte mit berühmten Künstlern, Lesungen, Vorträge, Führungen und Ausstellungen. Kulturelles Highlight und schon fast zur Tradition geworden, ist das Konzert der Sinfonia Engiadina, die jeweils Ende Dezember in Sils zu Gast sind. Ein musikalischer Genuss der Extraklasse.

Politische Gemeinde Sils i.E. / Segl

Sils im Engadin ist eingebettet zwischen dem Silsersee und dem Silvaplanersee und hat folgende Fraktionen: Sils Maria, Sils Baselgia, Val Fex (Fextal), Plaun da Lej und die drei Maiensässsiedlungen auf der linken Talseite oberhalb von Plaun da Lej: Grevasalvas, Blaunca und Buaira. Der höchste Punkt von Sils ist der Piz Corvatsch mit 3451 m ü. M.

 

Hotels und Ferienwohnungen in Sils

Hotel-Übersicht
Ferienwohnungen-Übersicht

 

Holiday Home Award Platz 1
Hotelangebote und Ferienwohnung finden